I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 10, 2017 - 11:38 a.m.

Day of the Emergos

Should I continue to do nothing of interest until I finish writing about Falcon Ridge? Sounds like a plan to me. Once again, I'm sleepy and could use breakfast and coffee but I know that would disappoint Kathy, and I never want to do that.

I'm up to Friday, the first day of music on the main stage. I spend all day flitting in and out of the Emerging Artist Showcase. My first stop is the press desk to get my temporary press pass so I can take pictures from the photographer's area. I can usually do that without credentials during the emerging artists my ulterior motive is talking to Kathryn who hands out the credentials. This year I introduced Fred to her so he could get a pass too. As often happens the passes were not ready yet so I just went to the press area and nobody bothered me. I try and take pictures of all the artists that I know in the showcase. It doesn't always work out. I was not ready when Letitia Vansant had her set, she was up third. By a miracle I edited my photos from Friday late last night so I can show you what I took.


Izzy Heltai

I didn't know Izzy but figured as long as I was there I'd take his picture. He's not the one I thought he was, he's standing off to the side, house left. I don't know why I didn't take pictures of more people I didn't know. I usually do. I think it's because I'm still getting used to having a camera again. Next year my FRFF pics will rock like Slayer used to.

The reason I was in the photographer's area for Izzy was that I wanted to be sure to take pictures of Emily Mure; she's a friend and a Budgiedome performer. She was joined by cellist April Reed-Cox and fiddler Eric Lee. Eric is in the house band. Emergos are allowed to be joined by house band members, not enough of them take advantage of that. You are not going to do better than Eric on fiddle, Mark Dann on bass, or Radoslav Lorkovic on keyboard or accordion. Eric is a friend and Budgiedome alumnus so I wanted to be sure to get pictures of him too.


Emily


Emily and April


Eric

I had to talk to The End of America so I checked back stage. I'm not actually allowed back stage, so I looked from outside. I didn't see them but I saw Phil and asked the lovely woman at the gate, Cassie, if I could say hi to him. She said I could. After schmoozing with Phil, I made my way to the WFUV to say hi to whoever was there. I got back to the main stage just in time for The End of America.


The End of America


James


Brendon


Trevor

After their set, I tried to go backstage again. It started to rain. They had mercy on me and let me in. Then some wonderful friend said, "Get him a badge." After that I was allowed backstage. The reason I had to talk to the End of America is another idiot story. They might have been the first ones I invited to play the Budgiedome; it was back when they played Spiral Sounds back in January or February. Somehow, they never made their way on to my spreadsheet so I never sent them information or put them on the schedule. Most importantly I didn't send them the map of where the Budgiedome was. I did find them and was able to point right at the dome from backstage.

From then on, I could watch the showcase from what I call the Bullpen. It's the fenced of area to the side of the stage. I always end up in the lounge where it's shady, there is food, and comfy places to sit. The watermelon is a lifesaver.

I might have been overcautious when Ryanhood took the stage. It was lightly raining and I was afraid to get my camera wet so I stayed in the lounge and listened from there. It's a shame as they looked particularly spiffy. It's not every folk act that wears vests. I took pictures in the Budgiedome but photo conditions aren't nearly as good there.

My final photos were of Heather Aubrey Lloyd; she is the Emergo that I've known the longest and the one I know best.


Heather


Heather

A panel of judges decides which 24 of the hundreds of entries are chosen to play the Emerging Artist Showcase. They are then forced to sit on stage while everyone watches them watch. My kudos to this year's judges.


(l to r) Scott Jones, Scott Moore, Carter Smith

I confess that I'd love to be in that fishbowl someday. Not that I want to be on stage, I want to help pick the talent.

When the Showcase was over I went up the hill to have dinner at Camp Steeple. I wanted to catch Tempest on the main stage but we weren't ready when they went on. The first slot after the dinner break is not a good one. The advantage of camping on the hill is that we can hear everything on main stage fine. I loved Tempest and they were my discovery of the festival even though I never "saw" them perform. They have a Great Big Sea vibe, I love that vibe. They did a workshop I wanted to see but I didn't make it down for that either. I am ashamed. On the other hand, dinner was great. I'm not sure what we had? Was that Bacon Tart day? I think so. The filling is potatoes and cheese and the crust is bacon. This is why I married Emily even though she's already married to Joe. She's my bacon wife.

I'm going to cut this hear as I took pictures from the evening but haven't edited them yet. I thought that this year I would write fewer Falcon Ridge entries. It isn't working out that way.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 10, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!