I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 08, 2015 - 12:47 p.m.

Falcon Ridge 2015 the Cronus's Day

I had another not good day yesterday, I never left the house and I never even got dressed. I complained once how when my landlady cleaned my room she moved my CDs; now I can't find one I need to play on the radio. It's one I requested the artists send me to play. This is exactly why finding things out of their place when I get home gives me anxiety. No matter how messy things look I usually know where they are, especially CDs.

The one good thing yesterday was talking to Meg on the phone. She asked me to call her because she couldn't find her phone. That's the danger of being my friend, I'll rub off on you. But then we talked for a while. Sure I just saw her at Falcon Ridge but that's not the same as one-on-one conversation. We got to talk about things I can't write about here, so you know they are good.

Something weird happened with my computer. All of a sudden the screen switched to portrait mode from landscape. I am hoping I accidentally hit something, I was moving the computer around when it happened. Oh I was talking to Kathy online at the time. So I had two real conversations yesterday, that's two more than most days.

Something else positive yesterday, I at least took care of my culinary needs, I cooked my favorite dinner, sweet garlic chicken an Hasselback Potato. This is what the potato looks like:

When I'm preparing it I have to brush oil on the individual slices. I use a fork to open the gap. It struck me that it reminded me of turning a Shai-Hulud so for now on I'm calling them Shai-Hulud potatoes. Anyone other than Rob and Morandir get that? You'll have to use google if you don't. I expect My Gentle Readers to be resourceful.

OK so now to make myself happy I'll return to writing about Falcon Ridge. I was going to say the happiest place on earth but that's specifically Budgiedome and that's one thing I am not going to write about today. Yesterday was the Budgiedome sessions entry.

So I'm up to Saturday. I was up until 4 AM the night before, I got to bed early. So whose bright idea was it to schedule ilyAIMY at noon. That's pretty much dawn Folk Daylight Savings Time. Sounds shocking doesn't it? But it was actually no trouble getting there on time. Why? Someone had the even brighter idea of scheduling the Shake Me Wake Me workshop for 10:30. I couldn't miss that as it featured Pesky J. Nixon and Caitlin Canty, two favorites. I made it down there during the first song and deposited myself down front. I ended up right near Cadence Carroll one of my oldest FRFF friends, and one of the first people invited to play the Budgiedome. We actually met her at SMAF. I used to see her all the time but motherhood and teaching have kept her busy. So I got great music and great hugs so it was worth getting up in the predawn hours to see it.

It was followed by Rolling in the Aisles which featured Susan Werner and Ellis which I also wanted to see but I could only stay for one round as it conflicted with ilyAIMY. The Nields were also on the bill and they stole something out of my playbook. Nerissa and Katryina were covered by a curtain which two people held in front of them and their children stood in front and lip synced, mimed playing guitar, and danced in a recognizable fashion to their mothers. That was great. Shows once again that even though I don't like what they do musically the Nields are my people. I give them credit for taking an artistic stand. It isn't about pleasing me, OK it should be but I guess other people count a little bit too, but about making choices not doing what you think everyone else wants. This was totally adorable. And I did propose to Susan for Recumbent Bike even though it wasn't about food. It was about geeks and she laid down on the floor acting out riding one.

On Friday I wanted to get a frozen chocolate chiller from Taste Budd's during the emerging artist set. The problem is I left my wallet in my tent and I didn't have time to run to camp to get it, bye Falcon Ridge Money, Buy the drink and get to my place before Meg Braun came on. I told this to Mark Allen Berube who had just finished his set. He offered to lend me the money. Jake Jacobson took a picture of him handing me the money and posted it calling either a payola to play the Budgiedome or buying my vote. Mark was at Rolling in the Aisles and I went to pay him back. I ran into Jake and told him. He wouldn't take a picture of me paying Mark back. See that's how the press works. They print the fake scandal but bury the retraction. One more part of the story that shows how FRFF is a community. Taste Budd's raised their prices so the $5 was not enough for my drink. I had no more money on me. I told them what happened and they let me owe them a dollar! I of course paid it back next time I was there. I go every day so that was not an issue.

Despite running into people I made it to ilyAIMY before they started. I got some great pictures of that. Ok they are pictures of Heather's hair.

.

Too bad my pics of Heather's hair flying didn't come out well. Fred caught the full glory.

ilyAIMY might have the highest ratio of how much I love their music times how much I love them as people divided by how often I get to see them perform. Yes that is exactly how I parse the world.

That was followed by the Most Wanted Song Swap With , Caitlin Canty, Jean Rohe, and Matt Nakoa. I had asked all four to play the Budgiedome last year but could only work things out with Jean and Matt. I am kicking myself for Caitlin as she's a friend and she just somehow fell off my list to invite. Some people think of my taste as being out there but I pretty consistently love most of the performers that win the popular vote for Most Wanted. Of course to me that shows good taste on the part of the voters. Caitlin is another friend that is moving or just moved to Nashville. Of course Vermont had already stolen her back from Brooklyn

FRFF 2015 Saturday Daytime

I then went back up to camp to shower and take a nap. The nap never happened, just too many fun people in camp. I did get to hear two bands I wanted to hear from the top of the hill, Jesse Lege & Bayou Brew and Pete's Posse. I liked them both enough that I want to see them when I can give them my full attention. That happened last year with the Horseflies. I wish they had been invited back. After dinner I did head back down the hill to see see Ellis and The Duhks. I have no idea how I didn't invite Ellis to the Budgiedome. Yes I do, I had anxiety and froze. But she should have played for us. I did invite her to camp with us and the Steeple Tent next time. We have extended that invitation before.

I hardly ever see the Duhks and loved them. They are exactly what I wish Falcon Ridge would book more of, a great band that doesn't play there every year and is not part of the usual circuit.

FRFF 2015 Saturday Night

As usual I didn't stay downstairs for the Slambovians' set. That's when I go back to help convert the Budgiedome into theater seating. If Falcon Ridge every put someone I loved in the last slot for the day I'd have a dilemma.

OK only one more day of the Festival to write about. That will come tomorrow. Of course I'll be busy today and have something to write about. We'll see how this works out.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 08, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!