I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 01, 2012 - 11:56 p.m.

The Only Sacred Ground That I Have Ever Known

Welcome back to the saga of Falcon Ridge 2012. I keep meaning to write two entries a day but keep not getting around to it.

Now we are up to Friday night, really Saturday morning at The Budgiedome. The Budgiedome sessions are my highlight of Falcon Ridge. I work and look forward to them all year. Last year was total chaos and I put it together at the last minute. This year I was ready a month early. Of course I made changes as late as Wednesday as performers had to cancel or change their time slot. You'd think that would stress me out but instead I get an adrenaline rush.

The lineup was The YaYas, Carolann Solebello, Burning Bridget Cleary, Meg Braun, Copper Ponies, Paul Sachs, Sorcha, Scott Wolfson and Other Heroes, Jon Brooks, and Julie Christensen. All but Julie were booked beforehand. We usually have more walk ins but everyone I invited showed up at the festival this year so we were booked solid late into the night. I didn't plan it that way but I loved the way the performers contrasted with each other. Everyone did something nothing like the act before or after. Carolann joined the YaYas on a song and then Catherine from the YaYas joined Carolann on her first song, Ruby, which they co-wrote. It's a bizarre song so of course I love it. I'll have to ask Erik Balkey and Annie Donahue but this might have been the first public performance by The Copper Ponies. Jon was the only Canadian to grace the Budgiedome this year but as our flagpole has a Canadian flag on it we need at least one. Jon, Sorcha, and Burning Bridget Cleary were all NERFA discoveries.

Meg became part of the Budgiedome family when she stepped into the breach when our scheduled performer was hijacked by the Big Orange Tarp. So it was only appropriate that when we had a late cancelation I gave Meg that slot. I caught her set when from the back where I was getting coffee. That proved lucky as I listened to it with Carolann and got to hear her sing along. I sang along too. I know I can't sing but if I know the words I can't help it and I've seen Meg often enough to not be able to keep quiet during "Strong Women."


Burning Bridget Cleary had a series of technical disasters during their main stage set. I'm glad an audience got to see them do a full set unencumbered by a sound system. They blow me away every time.

I have never seen Scott with this band before. I had heard him solo and with Mark Allen Berube and figured he was original enough that I'd like what they do. I knew two members of his band, Kirk and Skyler, that cave me confidence too. I was right. They did not disappoint.

The music was great but that isn't what people are going to remember best. Friday night belonged to Jake. Jake who? Well we don't know Jake's last name. He didn't perform, well not intentionally. Jake was quite drunk and started by heckling the YaYas and Catherine in particular. "Don't whisper! Project!" Catherine does project. He then went on to talk about his sister. And to keep talking. Catherine handled it masterfully and was able to complete her set. Jake then disappeared for Carolann's set. I'm not sure when he came back but he fell right asleep in the middle of a sentence. He then started snoring. The snores made way to equinoid snorts. This had to be distracting and annoying to the musicians but it was also funny. They handled it great. Jake has become a living legend. Jay does a great imitation of him taking and Mark of his snorts. They could go on the road and do that as an act. Good thing they don't imitate his smell. Sure everyone smells at Falcon Ridge but not like Jake. You did not want to be downwind of him.

I'm prejudiced but I'd take the Budgiedome lineup over the main stage performers.

I didn't get to sleep till after 4 AM but once again was up by 7:50 on Saturday. Sleep was more about theory than practice at Falcon Ridge.

And it was evening and morning the second day.

I�m stop here for now and try and write more tomorrow morning.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 01, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!