I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-04-19 - 3:13 p.m.

I Forget

I'm exhausted, I have a million things to do, I should be taking a nap, but Carey demanded I update so here it is. Just so you know I'm not lying, this is the Frumessage I just got from Carey.

gordoooooondooooooon. update. you

bastard.

When the hell did I update last? Have I slept this week? Let's see what I can remember. On Thursday I did sleep, I slept late actually; I didn't get up till 5:05, not 4:30 like I had been. I went to bed around 11 the night before but ended up waking up at 1:30 and didn't get back to sleep for hours.

I did my WFUV morning shift and had my usual good time. Jim was back from vacation and that was great. Jim is the only volunteer who takes over the place more than I do. We are slightly assertive.

After that I was off to school. The lesson went a bit better than the day before. I actually did proofs for the only time all year, I proved the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. They even liked a joke I made. The FTC is in two parts. After part one I said, "unlike Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter" you won't have to wait a year for the sequel." I then went into how all math needed was merchandizing. Then I realized that here is merchandizing, that I have shirts with calculus on them. They found that all very amusing, I'm going to have to wear the shirts next week.

When I got home I found out that my mother had a bad day, she went t the doctor for the first time by herself, it really made her miss my father. She broke down at the office.

She had another doctor's appointment today and I took her that went well.

Last night was the reason that Carey is making me update. I went to the Nassau Community College Folk Festival. The featured artists were Kevin Ceballo (salsa), Christine Lavin (singer/songwriter), Yacub Addy's Odadaa! (music and dance from Ghana), host Little Toby Walker (Long Island's own best blues artist), and some A Cappella band from Northern VA, Michelangelo's Journal, or Raphael's sketchbook, Donatello's Diary or something like that. I know the name has something do with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I got to talk to Paul from the group before the show to make sure that he sent a copy of their new CD, Apatosaurus to Rita Houston at WFUV. I told Rita to expect it. If she doesn't get it by the 30th Paul told me to bug him to make sure they send it.

The host Little Toby Walker was my discovery of the night. He's great. Half of his songs are classic blues, often on the steel guitar, the other half are funny songs quite reminiscent of Tom Paxton. I bought his CD and signed his mailing list. He's opening for Slaid in October I know I'll see him there. He had one song that was made for me, it's title is I forget I think I'll make it my theme song. Another great one was Give me that Online Religion

I'm not usually a big fan of world music but I really enjoyed Yacub Addy's Odadaa. It is a group of 11 singers, dancers, and drummers who play the music of Ghana. There were a few people in the audience who were very disrespectful of them that was unpleasant. It was a very different audience than usual; it was a free event on Long Island, not what I'm used to. I was actually one of the youngest people there. The only other people I knew were Dave who volunteers at WFUV and Scott Perschke a Fruhead who runs the Idiot's Delight Digest. I've known Scott for years.

After Yacu Addy's Odadaa, that a cappella group came on. It took a while for the audience to warm up to them. Their first song was a new one, it was hard to make out the words, and there was lots of handclapping and not a great job done on the soundboard. It had to do with a computer system crashing from what I could make out. The rest of the songs were ones I knew including many favorites. The song that totally won over the audience was Title of the Song. Heather Graham and Secret Asian Man went over big too. The biggest hit was of course Enormous Penis . Senior citizens and frat boys have similar taste it seems.

After Rafael's Diary, or whatever they were called, Christine Lavin went on. She did her usual wonderful show. The set wasn't pretty much the same as the last time I saw her. She introduced me as the Jeopardy champ from the stage as usual. During SNAG I was joined in the SNAG chorus by the guys in Donatello's Notebook. I stood right next to Gregory. You should have seen him when Christine asked us to shake our booties. When she did the final medley of Dream and Summer Song where she usually says, "If you don't know the words just sing Love Shack" she said Enormous Penis instead. Christine is a Frat Boy at Heart too.

I didn't stay for the last act because I wanted to get some sleep tonight. I ended up talking to the guys in Michelangelo's Journal, till midnight anyway of course. They are fun guys.

Today I was back at WFUV. One of the pledges that came in was from Slaid Cleaves, who I'm seeing with Carey and Lisa tomorrow. Voices on the Verge was in the studio but the only one I got to talk to was Jess Klein. I was really busy today supervising. That's a good thing of course.

I have to run now and take my mother to the bus; she's visiting my sister and nephew this weekend. I'll update again Sunday after Carey leaves.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-04-19
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!