I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 13, 2016 - 12:45 p.m.

Fond of Fondue

I'm back to writing a morning edition of Wise Madness. I'm writing in the morning because for the first time since Tuesday I'm not waking up and heading right out to WFUV. I'm taking today off from the pledge drive. The station moved all the shows I listened to from Saturdays so now I don't go in them. The day off is nice. My plan is to not get dressed today.

Yesterday I did what I consider my normal pledge drive day. I awoke at 4:13 AM, yes not 4:12 or 4:14, I have this timed down to the second. I got ready and left the house at 4:33. It was cold, 14°F when I reached the Bronx, so I had to layer up. I did not go to defcon 4. I didn't wear my thermal boots and I didn't wear a scarf. I took the up to Fordham Rd and then the BX 12 to Fordham. I listened to Google Maps and entered a gate I hadn't tried before, Bathgate Ave. It is the best route. I walked in around 6:18. So yes it took an hour and three quarters to get there. I find that wearing.

I was rewarding with this view of Keating Hall on the Fordham University Rose Hill Campus in those magical moments between dawn and sunrise.

I took these pictures on campus the day before.

You might be wondering where all the snow came from. Those were actually taken inside of Keating Hall. WFUV shares the basement with the art department and those are models that are set up in the hallway by one of the art studios.

The greatest thing that ever happened in the history of WFUV happened yesterday; this.

Linda ordered chocolate fondue and supplied fruit to dip in it. That's Jim's hand modeling the chocolate covered banana slice. U2 played a concert in front of Keating Hall. Paul Simon just walked in off the street to come on the station. Those things pale in comparison to this chocolate fondue. I showed great self-control and did not just pick up the pot and drink the molten chocolate. Every fiber of my being wanted to do that. I'd make it healthy and pour the banana slices into it first. But I didn't do it. I deserve a medal. As a kid I was never sure if it were medal or metal. My father had a bronze star, that's not just made out of metal it's named for one.

In yesterday's edition of Wise Madness I wrote a brilliant evaluation of Tom's character; he's one of the volunteers. Yesterday I showed it to Jim to read. He laughed aloud. Then just as he finished Tom arrived. Jim took one look at the look Tom gave me and he said, "I see you've read what Gordon wrote." That was so worth it. It still doesn't come close to the fondue.

The volunteer room is decorated for Valentine's Day. This is how I customized one of the hearts:

I took a selfie with Lori not LORi. She looks like she hates me a little less than usual in it.

There you see me clearly showing that I love her and Lori thinking, "Oh god how long can I bear being this close to him?" it is so hard being me.

As I posted those pics I discovered that Google is getting rid of Picasa. I am livid. Since 2006 almost all my photos on Wise Madness have been hosted on Picasaweb Albums. There is no information on what's going to happen to them. Will I have to go back and change each and every picture to a new URL on Google pictures? The Picasa desktop app is replaced by the new Google Photos app but it doesn't do any of the same things. It's just an auto-backup app. It doesn't edit photos and doesn't let you choose what to share. I am losing a ton of functions that I use all the time and getting nothing but a backup function that I already have on other cloud storage apps. I see absolutely no upside to any of this. There might be ways of still doing these things but there are no instructions given anywhere. There's an inferior photo editor but it is only available online. That makes it slower and subject to me having an internet connection. My thoughts about this are incoherent as I just found out about it and they give no information. They didn't even say it was just a backup photo service. I thought it would replace Picasa. Not being able to choose which photos to upload is insane. If there were some sort of manual it would be less evil, this way it is pure evil.

OK I'm going to make breakfast for the first time since Monday. There was no breakfast meat the last few days at WFUV and I'm out of bacon. I think I'll go for taylorhameggandcheese on a bagel today.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 13, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!