I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 19, 2011 - 10:26 a.m.

The Italian Folk Mafia

I've been up for an hour, I should have started writing already. Well maybe not. I was editing photos and reading the times. Maybe I'll give myself a pass this morning.

Yesterday I went to a house concert. Can you imagine that? A concert in somebody's house! Right in their living room? What will they think of next?

This was a close to a relaxing day with friends as I can get and still hear live music, Carolann Solebello, and Anthony da Costa, at Gene & Isabel's house.. OK I didn't know the opening act, Eli Maniscalco but he's my friend on Facebook now. That makes us tight, right?

It was the meeting of the Italian Folk mafia. Anthony's name is Portuguese and Gene's is, well something, but they are both half Italian. I'm pretty sure you could guess from Eli and Carolann's names.

As I always do at house concerts at Gene & Isabel I got there an hour early to make my world famous chocolate chip French toast bread pudding. I decided that needs a shorter name. Chris and I worked on contractions like chfrudding. I think it just needs a totally different name. I got the original recipe from Christine Lavin and added the chocolate chips. How about the "Chocolatized Lavinator?"

I got there so early the performers hadn't even arrived. This is why it's more fun when friends give the house concerts. You don't stand on formalities. Oh I just realized I didn't visit my camping gear. It lives in their garage. It's going to feel unloved now.

Not that long afterward Chris and Rona and Bob and the musicians showed up. I knew a lot of people there. Jim and Tina came up from Virginia. House concerts are a big deal.

Guess where I sat? Yes down front. I just wanted to sit next to Felix, Carolann's son. Here he is taking temporary refuge from me on his father's lap.


He's eyeing me suspiciously, isn't he?

Felix likes Bullwinkle so I wore a shirt from my Bullwinkle collection. What you don't have a Bullwinkle collection? You're the one that should be embarrassed.

Felix's father has a name, Mark Berube. When Carolann said that at one point Anthony corrected her, "Mark Allen Berube!", his professional name. It's a wise wife that knows her husband's name.

Before the show there was a pot luck. I guess I should have mentioned that when I was talking about the chocolatized Lavinator. I think I ate about 6000 calories. I had two slices of cL (I shortened the shortened name), four pieces of rugelach, god knows how many pieces of corn bread and munchkins. Oh yes and I was munching on m&ms before the other guests arrived. Good thing the folding chair could hold me.

I was unfamiliar with Eli "The Count of" Maniscalco. He's a local act. He could have walked there. He's also good. Hopefully he'll forgive me for calling him "The Count of." He has a varied repertoire. He started with Reverend Gary Davis style blues guitar and later did a song that reminded me of Dave's True Story. Those are good things.


Eli Maniscalco

Anthony won or lost the coin flip and went first. I have most definitely run out of things to say about Anthony. Search for "da Costa" here and Free Find will say, "just pick a page at random, he's probably there." Oh, that's what I should talk about. His mother Lily (sp?) was there. I've only met her once before but as people have often asked if I were Anthony's father I feel connected to her. When Anthony wasn't in earshot we got to say things like, "I can't believe he's driving." Anthony is only 20 and I've known him for four years. I can't believe it's only four years.

Anthony has a new album coming out, Secret Handshake. I should have videoed one of the new songs. I didn't because, well you know that I'm idiot. You'll just have to take my word for it, it's great. No you don't. you can take Heather Lloyd from ilyAIMY's word for it.

My favorite example of this recently is Anthony da Costa, my musician crush of the moment, who I've run into at Susie's House Concert, Falcon Ridge and Tom Bianchi's event at The Burren all in a few months:

In the song "St. Therese," a pop framework that speaks to universal loneliness with a catchy hook uses a specific image to illustrate that idea: having only a record you're not in the mood for available to listen to. He picks one that most people will know, references it in the beginning and then end of a song, and comes up with something that both makes complete sense and is utterly original: "loneliness is listening to the record that you've got/not the record you want." I couldn't have written it. He had to write it, but I understand it and it connects with my own experiences. This line, very intentionally, elevates the entire song.

Go and buy the album and you'll get to hear the song.


Anthony kicking back to tell a story.

What's the story? Have Anthony tell you about it. It's the best "This is why I became a musician" story ever. It has romance, suspense, and dancing.

I've run out of things to write about Carolann too. I've seen her more than I've seen Anthony.


Carolann

Carolann's new CD Threshold came out a few months ago. It's her best album. You need to hear it. I'm an idiot but not a complete idiot. I videoed one of the songs.

I call this the "Eddie from Ohio" song. Why? It's based on her asking her boyfriend at the time to go "downtown" to see Eddie from Ohio at the Bottom Line. I'm pretty sure I was at the show.

Is it just me or is that song amazingly totally radio friendly?

After Carolann's set they did some songs together. I knew they would.

I even recorded one, Last Call. Anthony wrote it and I've heard it in four configurations Red Molly (they recorded it first), Abbie Gardner and Anthony, Anthony solo, and now with Carolann. It's a special song in the same mold as The Kennedys Stand. Here it is.

The most difficult part of the day was not singing along. I've done that when recording, it isn't pretty.

I want to write more but I'm running late. It was just a wonderful day.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 19, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!