I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 22, 2018 - 11:51 a.m.

A Warm Day and a Convertible was Not as Much Fun as it Sounds

I hate days when I don't get enough sleep, wake up, and then fall back asleep. Now it's late and I'd rather be eating than writing but I have my priorities.

I should have taken advantage of yesterday's weather and taken a walk through Pelham Bay Park. I didn't. I stayed in until I took the bus to Stop & Shop at Co-Op City. I did my usual efficient shopping and went to my newly discovered bus stop much closer than the one I usually use. It's the one I get off at. The first time I went to the store and tried to get on there the bus driver told me I couldn't board. I discovered yesterday he was just being difficult. It's the end of the line and the driver gets a break then. He was just trying to get rid of me to take his break. Not only is this much closer, there's a place for me to sit.

I planned things so well that I left while the buses were still running every 15 minutes. I didn't even check the website to see when the next bus was coming. It was scheduled to come five minutes after I got to the stop. It didn't It didn't come ten minutes later. I checked the website and it said no buses were on the way. I checked another part of the website and found that all four buses were at the other end of the route, City Island. Three heading towards Co-op City. They were separated by just a few stops. That's ridiculous. I ended up waiting 45 minutes. I had bought ice cream. I did not look to see what it was like.

The reason the bus was late was that the traffic on the one approach to City Island was bumper to bumper. This happens in the summer, people come to the Island to eat. Yesterday was warm and everyone decided to go to the Island. I don't get that at all. They are eating indoors, what difference does the temperature make? The upshot of all this is that I got home two hours later than I should have. This was all because I had a craving for Philly cheese steak and I was out of shaved beef. I was not a happy camper.

Then when I got home, I unpacked what had to be frozen and refrigerated and went up to my room to change and go to the bathroom. I was worn out from the ridiculous commute. I went downstairs to eat, and Bernie asked me for a favor. We have a house guest and he was having trouble opening the convertible bed in the living room. I went over to see what I could do. It wouldn't open for me either. I got it over one hump and thought that would do it, but it didn't. I decided that I needed to rest and eat first. I made my delicious dinner and had a chocolate crepe for dessert. I figured that would boost my brain power and I would figure out what was wrong. I kept trying. That meant wrestling with the entire convertible. It was heavy, and I had to keep manhandling it. I saw that the bedding was wrapped around some of the mechanism. I was sure that was the problem. I took off all the bedding. It still wouldn't open. I removed the mattress, so I could see better, and it would be easier to handle. I still couldn't find the problem. I did see that it was no symmetric. I couldn't tell why. I needed more light, so I got a flashlight. I also needed another mental break. I was mentally tired before I started on this. I took my break and looked with light and fresh eyes. First, I saw there was what looked like duct tape wedged in the mechanism on one side and not the other. Aha! I took more manhandling, but I got it free. It still wouldn't open. Then I saw the real problem the bed frame on one side had detached from the couch. I had found some screws on the floor. They held it in place. I don't know how they came loose. Then once again I had to manhandle everything to get it into the right position. I finally found a trick, keep the metal bed frame in place end move the wood couch frame. I looked carefully at the side that was still attached and tried to make the other side look the same. Miraculously, when I did that the holes in the bed aligned with the holes in the couch. I had found three screws, there were five holes. I just put in every other one. When I did that it worked! Hurray for Captain Spalding!

When that was all done, we are talking over an hour, I went upstairs to watch The Flash and collapse. It wasn't on this week, so I watched the Olympics. The downhill portion of the Ladies' Alpine Combined was on. That's one of the events I enjoy. Lindsay Vonn crushed the field. We'll see how she does with the Slalom run today.

Today's going to be a late night. I'm going down to Sunny's Bar in Red Hook for the first time for a late show. That will be a two hour plus trip, but I'll be moving and rewarded with a great show. It's a Lucinda Williams Tribute with Rachael Price, Courtney Hartman, and others. It's not many musicians doing the covers, it's one supergroup band. It will be Rachael singing Lucinda and Courtney on the guitar. If she can work it out, Katherine is going to join me. Now that's worth four hours of traveling. I'm stalking the New England Conservatory of music. In the last week and a half, I'll have seen, Rachael twice, Vilray, Aoife O'Donovan, and Sarah Jarosz.

I wrote this fast. That's good. I'm starving. Poached eggs and ham on a chocolate chip waffle with cheese and maple syrup here I come.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 22, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!