I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 01, 2016 - 11:05 a.m.

I Saw Skyrockets

Hey I did something yesterday; I don't have to think about something to write about. That of course meant I thought of things to write about. I don't actually remember them so it's just as well. That's pretty much true every day. I always have lines of thought I get excited about then either forget or decide that My Gentle Readers will not be as excited about them as me.

Yesterday was June 30. It was a Thursday. For some reason that I can't fathom it was Fireworks Night. Jane and Bernie my lovely hosts here on City Island had a party on the roof to watch the Orchard Beach Fireworks. I walk right by the stairs to the roof every day but I have never gone up there. Don't think bare tar. It's a deck. Each apartment on the top floor has their own space.

We had been hoping for good weather. It was overcast the day before. It is overcast now. Last night it was perfect in every way. We sat on the roof and watched the sun set, snacked, and had a party. There were chairs set up on the deck but the best view was at one end. My seat was at the far end. Jane gave me an idea. The building used to be a school. Adjoining their deck is the old bell tower. The bell is gone. It's a bit dangerous as there is no fence around it but you can get up to the tower, it's only about three feet higher than the deck and there is a step. I got my stadium seat and set up on the tower. That was the best seat in the house. Jane only let me do it because I wasn't drinking. It was not actually dangerous. If I fell, I'd have fallen three feet. I didn't go to the edge that falls to the ground.

I could not believe how good the fireworks were. This little Orchard Beach display was better than the Macy's display. It did not have any of the long waits between bursts. They were rapid fire, usually there were multiple shells in the air. They were sophisticated and artfully mixed. I haven't seen fireworks in a number of years and there were some I hadn't seen; hearts, smiley faces, and one that wrote out NY.

I took pictures and videos that I haven't edited but I'm pretty sure they didn't come out that well, fireworks photos really do. You'll just have to take my word for it.

I was surprised there were fireworks on June 30 but they weren't just at Orchard Beach. There was one northeast of their, probably New Rochelle or Larchmont. There was one due west of us, one southwest, and one due south.

After the fireworks I was able to catch the end of the Met game. They won! Familia made it exciting. With a one run lead in the top of the ninth he walked about batter and gave up a double; it was second and third with none out. He got out of it. Whew. I'm not a curse.

I stopped by my PO box yesterday. I decided I wanted Nathan's for dinner. I haven't had that in a long time. There is a Nathan's truck in Columbus Circle. I didn't get anything. Two hot dogs and fries cost a dollar more there than two hots fries, and a drink cost at Penn Station. So I went down to Penn Station and got it there. I know it will disgust many of my friends but Nathan's will always be a favorite meal for me; the glory that is grease.

I had an American day, hot dogs, fireworks, and baseball. I am a patriot.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 01, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!