I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 24, 2013 - 10:44 p.m.

The Longest Day

I am totally exhausted but I love My Gentle Readers so I'm still going to write. Why am I exhausted? I got no sleep and did a 12-hour shift at WfUV. Yesterday was the first day of the drive but today was the first day I could go. I want to be there by 6 AM. If I were to just take bus and subway I'd have to leave at 4:13. That would mean getting up at 3:45 AM and that is ridiculous. so I settle for being a few minutes late and taking the Metro North from Grand Central. That gets in at 5:57 and by the time I get to Keating Hall it's 6:07. Not too bad. But the problem is that the train leaves at 5:40 AM. Now Google Maps does a great job of planning trips It tells me that I can leave here at 4:53 and get there at 5:35 or at 4:33 and arrive at 5:15. I didn't want to wait around so long so early in the morning so I opted for the latter. The problem is that if the subway runs late I might miss the Metro North. The subway ran late, by just about 3 minutes. That's enough as it takes time to get from the Subway onto the train. I ran as fast as I could and got to the platform as the train had just started to pull out. So I was late by about half an hour. I know I said that I'm never late in the City but this doesn�t count. I knew this could happen but I also knew that it wasn't a big problem if I were late. We hardly get any calls that early. I know that the people at the station will understand and it's worth risking it for the extra sleep.

Today was a bit tough. My Crohn's was acting up. I was in discomfort if not pain almost all day. I had to keep running to the bathroom but that's a good thing. I means it wasn't a full blown obstruction.

Even with that I have fun. I like the company. I like being useful. I did a good job. There were some changes made this drive and I was able to make everything go smoothly.

Who was there today? Jim was there most of the day, Then there was Stephan, Adrian, Suzy,Q, Hara, Angel, Lori not LORi who hates me, Rona, Bob, and Brian. I stayed way too late and didn't get out of there till 6:40. I got home around 8:15. It was a long day.

Yesterday I managed to do laundry and make dinner. Any day I make dinner is a treat. Yes it was just hot dogs and roasted potatoes but at least I cooked it myself.

The most important thing that happened is that thanks to the wonderful cherished Cheryl Prashker, the president of NERFA I have a room to sleep in. She shepherded me through the process helping me fight off the anxiety. It was fierce.

Once I'm at NERFA I'll feel much better. I always do. It's one of my natural habitats. I'm pretty much a schmoozing machine.

I have to update tomorrow without much happening in between so I'll keep this short.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 24, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!