I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 04, 2013 - 12:31 p.m.

School Daze

Where did the time go? I have class in 40 minutes. I was supposed to write this during my break. Now I have to make it super-fast.

I was good yesterday and came to school to prepare for the start of classes today. I did set up my attendance sheets and printout out the class outline. One big problem, we are using a new textbook and they didn't get me a copy yet. How am I supposed to assign homework? This is absurd. I am NOT a happy camper. I might have to stay after class and write up a homework sheet for the classes and email it to them. Actually I'll just scan from the old book and send that to them as a pdf. I'm going to do that now as soon as the copier is free. I'll hand out the physical sheets to the next class.

After I finished at school I rewarded myself with dinner at Steak 'n' Shake. A Chocolate shake makes me happy.

I realized this morning that I left all of my school clothes at the Last Homely House West of the Mountains. I'm wearing an outfit I normally wouldn't wear to school. It doesn't look bad just not as sharp as I prefer. At least its color coordinated, all navy. Yes I actually care about how I look when I teach, at least at the start of the semester. I know that the clothes don't make the man but some of the students don't. Of course I still have a pony tail and I am still a lot weirder than their high school teachers. I was the first professor any of my students have ever had, they are incoming freshman. I told them that their other teachers would not be as much fun or as good looking.

What is good is that there are only 10 students in the class! I'm sure I'll get some more, my guess is I'll end up with about 15.

I gave into the inevitable and decided to give myself a short course of prednisone instead of one shot doses of 20 mg when I have an attack. I'm starting with 15 mg and I'll try weaning myself quickly. Just taking it two days in a row has helped quite a bit. I'm feeling fine today which has not been true in a while.

I'm also feeling better because I talked to LORi for over an hour last night. I had a real conversation. It isn't as good as seeing someone in person but it helps. I've been isolated since Falcon Ridge. I like and appreciate my alone time but a month of it is too much. Most days I don't have any quality time with anyone. I have not been in this kind of social funk for a while.

Tara O'Grady is doing a free dance on the streets of Park Slope tomorrow. Maybe I'll be able to get up the nerve to ask someone to dance with me and maybe she'll say yes. That's two big maybes.

I will NOT be going to the WFUV dance party I support the station in many ways, but that isn't one of them. It's a lot of money to dance to music, most of which I won't like. There will not be any swing, klezmer, contra, or square dancing. No Zydeco or Cajun. Spell check does not know "klezmer," It's anti-Semitic!

OK I better put this to bed and get to class.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 04, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!