I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 28, 2013 - 2:40 p.m.

Driving me Crazy at the Drive

Now to catch up and write about Sunday. On Sunday I could sleep in, I didn't have to get to WFUV till 8 AM so I didn't have to get up to 6:03. Yes 03. I time things to the minute. Everything went smoothly and I arrived at 7:52. Hey I said I time things to the minute. I just remembered something that happened on Saturday that I wanted to write about. They are doing construction at the Fordham station on Metro North. On weekends the trains go on the express tracks and gang planks are extended from the platforms to the doors. They are not very wide. Yesterday people did what they are supposed to do and waited on the platform till everyone was off the train. On Saturday some people waited on the platform and one incredibly selfish woman stood right at the door when it opened and pushed her way in before anyone could get off. Others were on the plank making it difficult to get by them. Finally when I got to the platform one lovely young woman told someone that tried to get on the plank, "wait for the people to get off the train first." I thanked her.

Things were a bit chaotic at the drive yesterday. Not so much during John Platt's show,. That went smoothly though we needed more people to call. The volunteers were kept at a nice level of business, at least in the last hour. I made my pledge. I always try and write something pointed in response to the question, "Why do you support WFUV?" It's my chance to write ad copy. What I said this time had both text and subtext.

Most people don't even know the musical world I inhabit exists. It is invisible to mass media. Rebecca Loebe tells of how shocked the people on The Voice were that there are thousands of people that make a living writing the songs they perform independent of the corporate entertainment business. John's show is one of the few places people can hear those labors of love.
Fred was there, I know he got the subtext. I have never heard my pledge read and yesterday was no exception. I know I got a very nice thank you from Carmel who was teamed with John. I think they might not have read what I wrote. Given the choice of only one I'd rather be read than thanked. You might have noticed I have things to say.

After the show Fred and I had a nice talk with John about John Platt's On Your Radar.

The volunteers for Ceol na n'Gael arrived at the last minute. I know the reason that Lori not LORi, Rona, and Bob were late is that Lori hates me. When they arrived "Gordon ♡ Lori not LORi was written on the dry erase board. I am a saint.

One nice thing was that Sam and Kathy were around. They were both students that graduated but were back for the drive. I'd miss them if they weren't around. I might tease them but I love them. Sort of like Brian. But I'll never actually say I love Brian. I didn't just say that. It's an illusion.

I did a good job of controlling the anal side of my personality. Some of the volunteers just couldn't get the hang of some things. I am pretty sure a few never asked if people wanted to become sustaining members. At least they never checked the choices, "sustaining member" and "regular member." I corrected them a few times then saw more would be futile and let it go. One of the volunteers was great. He called me over for help at exactly the right times. He got some weird cases and didn't guess what to do, he called me over. "That's what I'm there for." I also talk on the phone to the difficult calls. Sometimes the people are difficult and sometimes their problems are.

The one thing where I had to fight to stay calm was a five minutes before the Ceol na n'Gael was over and an hour and five minutes before the shift was over a group of volunteers left, just as things were busiest and every phone was busy. To make it worse one just handed me a phone and said, "I'm in the middle of a call but I have to leave, finish it." I then got stuck answering call after call and missed the change of the hour into the new show, "Woody's Children." That had a special premium, tickets to a concert, I knew nothing about. Of course I got a caller that wanted it. I had to have him hold on why I found things out and then later found out that I didn't find out everything I needed for him. It led to be selling one more ticket than we had. It can be worked out but all this havoc was created by someone leaving in the middle of a call. It wasn't for an emergency.

I went home after Woody's Children. There's a three hour break to the next show they pitch on. The shows on the air are syndicated.

I spent a while cleaning up the mess and tying up loose ends then headed to the MetroNorth with Sam. My timing was pretty good. I only had to wait about five minutes.

I'd write more now but I should do some things for school before I go to therapy otherwise I'll have to come back here.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 28, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!