I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 25, 2014 - 2:25 p.m.

Eye-Candy Man

Late start writing today. This is when I'm usually eating brunch. I slept late then had to take care of some things and now my entire day is thrown off. I never write this late. Of course I used to routinely write before I went to sleep. I can adjust. I just like ranting. I actually pretty flexible. Speaking of which since I got my mattress fixed I'm a lot more physically flexible. My chronic sore shoulder is gone. That makes a huge difference. It's Maura's birthday today and I always joke that she has a picture someplace aging for her. I age on the outside but not the inside. With my shoulder better I feel just like I did when I was 18. The only difference is that I'm pretty much blind now. But my body and more importantly my brain feel just the same. I hope I die before I get old.

Yesterday I traveled up to my PO box in Columbus Circle then back to Heather's in Williamsburg.. I can get to her house just as fast from there as from home. That's ridiculous. Subways are just so much better than busses. Heather needed my phone while she talked to customer service about her phone. We had to take the phone apart and go through all these steps before they told her that it was just to reset the phone, we did that days ago. It was a total waste of time. If they started by saying, I'll tell you how to reset the phone it would have been so much better. That's a rule of teaching. Always tell what the final goal is before you start. I'm going to tell you the best piece of advice I ever got about communicating. "Tell them what you're going to tell them. Tell them. Tell them what you told them." It's all about the introduction and the summary. See I just used it there.

After the phone adventure we made meringue cookies She didn't have cream of tarter and none of the stores around her even knew what it was. I think that's why it never got that stiff meringue consistency. The cookies were flat but tasted great. OK it was just a sugar delivery system but it worked. I said we should market them as Williamsburg Meringue Crisps. The target audience is hipsters. Our motto on the package is. ."I liked them before they were famous." We'll be zillionaires.

Then we went to a party. It was called "Fundraiser for _____" a movie that Heather is an intern on. I expected it was going to be a fundraiser to raise the money for the film with people paying big bucks to meet the stars. When we got there we found out it was a get-together at a bar for the people working on the indiegogo campaign. I wasn't disappointed that I didn't get to meet the stars but that I didn't get free food. I had to buy it at the bar. I did get to meet some fun people but I wasted my getting dressed up. My clothes actually matched. I figured my job was to be Heather's eye candy while she hobnobbed with the rich and famous. Heather thinks I'm weird and deluded. You know I�m eye candy, right?

Out of nowhere my Crohn's had subsided. I am going to the bathroom like a healthy person. There's been no change in my diet or life style. That's something people have a hard time accepting. They want a reason for everything. There is a reason but it's imperceptible. It might be butterfly effect a tiny thing caused a series of events that turned around the way my immune system is acting. It won't last, it never does. When I was younger and the disease was less advanced the remissions would last years at a time. Maybe it will again. The reason that people believe in quackery is that sometimes these sorts of random changes follow the useless treatment. Then the treatment gets the credit. Our direct experience has a huge effect on our perception of reality. That makes sense of course. The point of science is to move past that.. Most people haven't.

I usually now tell you what I�m having for breakfast but I already had breakfast. It was poached eggs with Taylor ham and jack cheese. It was delicious.

Tonight I'm seeing Dan Bern at the Common Ground Community Concerts. Honor Finnegan is opening. It's sold out so if you don't have a ticket you're not joining me but I wish you could. It's going to be a special night. I'll write a lot about that tomorrow.

Oh one more thing. I don't have Thanksgiving plans. Who wants to invite me? I have two invitations from people I love. The problem is one is from vegans and I'm meatan. I won't have anything to eat. But the company might be worth it. The other will have bacon! but it's in Massachusetts. Anyone closer want to have some eye candy at their Thanksgiving?



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 25, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!