I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 18, 2014 - 12:07 p.m.

Everybody Knows

I have lots to do today. Why am I having trouble getting started? Oh right I'm an idiot. If I don't do laundry I'm in trouble. Or maybe you are as I'll have to walk around naked. I have to do school work and create a Facebook event too. I'm going out tonight. You might know where as I mentioned it in my last entry. If you know tell me. I don't have the faintest idea. I bet it's good though. Yesterday I got a text telling me I had mail in my PO Box. The alerts are finally working correctly. It was my paycheck. That was good. And it forced me to go out. That's good too. I went shopping at Trader Joe's. My exchanged at the checkout was half my conversation for the day. The other was I talked to the landlady. We've had a problem with a lack of silverware so she bought more. I didn't have the heart to tell her that what she bought isn't good. She doesn't actually use silverware herself. She's something of a food faddist. She bought a service for four but the forks are the size of cake forks and the spoons are dessert spoons. Maybe they were designed for hobbits.

As for me, I made my soup. This time I used chicken sweet Italian sausages. I also ate the one leftover chicken garlic sausage that had been left over. I looked for that the other day and couldn't find it. I thought I had forgotten that I had eaten it. Then there it was. I suspect it was in the fridge too long. My digestive system didn't like something that I ate and that's the only thing I can think of. But thinking of it I don't think it was the sausage. It hit too soon after I ate it and didn't last long enough. Maybe my body was just being difficult. It does that.

For the first time since I've been making the soup here the one soup bowl was available. I am pretty sure that the stairway stomper kept it in her room. I know she kept the one large mug. I thought that was her own. She acted like it was.

Hey I know what I'm doing tonight I'm seeing Kristin Andreassen and Alex Spiegelman at Rockwood Music Hall. A miracle just occurred. I remembered the correct the shortcut keys to the macros that inserted the links.

I'm going to write about what everybody knows. No, I'm not writing things that you and everyone else know, but the phenomenon of "everybody knows." The thing is that what everybody knows isn't always right. It usually is. night follows day, if you drop something if falls. Everybody knows those things and they are true. But everybody knew sun revolved around the earth and one time. Paul Krugman wonders how in the face of a current economic crisis the deficit 20 years from now became the overriding economic concern and remained so in the face of falling deficits Yes part of it was orchestrated by people like Pete Peterson and the Kochs. But the only reason it works is that once it hit critical mass it became what everybody knew.

Another wrinkle is who is "everybody." It's everybody in your circle. so everybody in some places and in some social circles know that gay marriage is a terrible thing. Everybody in others think that GMOs pose an existential threat.. In Russian everybody knows that Crimea has been liberated from the fascists

It's hard to go against what everybody knows. I threw in the GMOs because my social circle is largely the everybody that knows they are an existential threat. And guess what. I'm nervous about the repercussions of saying that. And that's me. I'm outspoken. Like Dar I am the Other (nice irony there).

Look around and you see how other people succumb to "everybody knows." You can be pretty sure you do too.

In just about every conflict the problem is that what everybody knows on the two sides are contradictory. Just look at Israel/Palestine. Everybody outside of their knows what a solution looks like. Everybody on the inside knows that the other side is totally unreasonable and committed to their destruction

And what brought me to write this? Thinking about agnostics. Why are there agnostics? There aren't people that think that ghosts are a reasonable alternative but are skeptical of their existence. People believe in ghosts or they don't. Ghosts are a lot less improbable than god. They both involve beings not tied to physical bodies but there's a lot more to being god. But there are people that feel the need to say that it isn't that they don't believe that there is no god; they are just skeptical. And the reason is, everybody believes in god. Or at least so many people that it's the norm. That makes it automatically feel like a reasonable position even if there is no reasoning behind it.

And now I've offended more people. See why I kept putting off writing this? That and the fact that I can't write this nearly as well as I'd like. This isn't particularly well-reasoned. It's clearly a blog and not an essay.

But it did fill up the page and now I can go eat. Wbat's on the breakfast menu today? I think bacon and eggs.

Oh we got a new toaster. It has wide slots so I can toast bagels! That means I have to buy bagels today. That's exciting. But that will wait till after breakfast.

Correction: Kristin and Alec are at Barb�s. I'm an idiot. But we knew that. I remembered the shortcut key but not where they were playing. Thanks Fred for catching this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 18, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!