I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 05, 2006 - 12:37 p.m.

Ego Boosts

Welcome to the first subfreezing edition of Wise Madness this season. WeatherBug says that it is 31°F; thats –0.6°C for you metric types. Oh no, the temperature just went over freezing; it is now 32.4°C, that's 0.2°C. Well it was subfreezing when I started this so I'm not changing the first sentence.

I know what I'm writing about today but I'm not sure how to organize this. Writing about not knowing how to organize it is probably not the best organizational principle.

I know I'm going to use reverse chronological order.

Last night I went to the Knick game. Guess what; the Knicks actually won. They beat the Memphis Grizzlies pretty interesting. This was the first home victory I was at. Of course it is only their second home victory. I decided that I'm rooting for them to lose every game then I won't be disappointed; So last night I was disappointed. I'm complicated. The best part of the games is hanging out with Alan.

I have to pat myself on the back. I arranged for Iain Campbell Smith to get interviewed on the Sunday Street program on WUSB-FM. Now I have to try and get him an actually gig. Have I mentioned that he should be a huge megastar of the folk world? Then he can make tens of dollars a year.

Rebecca found a List of the top played musicians on Folk Radio and somehow Iain made the list at number 21. The Kennedys are number 2!

My big excitement yesterday was a phone call. Don't I live in exciting life? Some time ago I got the Jajah; it lets you make inexpensive calls overseas with your computer. You dial on the computer then talk on your phone. I got it to talk to Lena in Israel. She calls me all the time. I realized I could call other people to so I asked some people for their number and the amazing Emilie emailed me hers. I have not seen or talked to her in almost two and a half years. She spent a several weeks in the summer of the summer of 2004 with me. Then she went back to Merry Olde England. Now she is studying at theRoyal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama in Glasgow, even further away.

I've been trying to call her for what seems like eons but is actually about a week. Most of the times I called she wasn't in. She leads a busy life. Once she was home waiting for my call and her phone decided to be mean and not ring. She did play my voice mail to her friends. They know me as the "fabulously old and creep guy" from the States.

Yesterday afternoon we actually connected and talked forever. We had a lot of catching up to do. It was great. She is one of the most fun people I've ever known. We discussed her master plan to get her school to pay for her airfare so she can audition at Julliard. My master plan is to stand outside the audition with a group of her friends and cheer wildly when she's done and suggest that there will be riots and civil unrest if they don't accept her.

Emilie mentioned how I really appreciate it when she sends me a package. Mutual appreciation is so important in a friendship. I always feel appreciated by Emilie. She was actually excited that I called. That gave me the warm and fuzzies.

Now I'll back up a day and write about what I didn't have time to include in my last entry. It is official I'm going to be hosting my third house concert. Jim Infantino of Jim's Big Ego will be performing in my living room on January 6. I handled the invites differently than my other house concerts. In the past I invited no more than I could fit in my living room and only asked others after people said they couldn't make it. That led to my having less than a full house. Jim is coming down from Boston so I want to make sure it is worth his while so I risked overbooking. If too many people can make it I'll have to clean out my basement so we can have the concert there. Now of course some people I invited I'm pretty sure won't be able to make it as they live in different countries and even different continents. If you got an invite make sure to RSVP.

Speaking of continents it looks like I'll be setting a new personal record and sending Festivus packages to four continents now. It creates the illusion of my being popular.

This entry is filled with my interacting with friends yet I still often feel lonely. Have I mentioned that I'm complicated?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 05, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!