I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 20, 2013 - 5:06 p.m.

What's Opera Emilie?

I need t6 take a nap before I go out but I didn�t write yesterday and can't leave you hanging two days in a row.

I started to write late yesterday afternoon when Katherine texted me, "are you at the Folk Art Museum. I had totally forgotten about it I abanded what I had written and headed up to the museum. What was I writing about? the anxiety attack I was having. How bad was it? It didn't go away when I got the museum and met Katherine. A little catch up for My non-regular Gentle Readers. I don't go to the museum to see art but for the Free Music Fridays. It's where I always go on Fridays before I go out to whatever else my plans are. Not only was Katherine there but Karen too. I sat with two-thirds of Bobtown, listening to folk music, and couldn't shed the anxiety. I'm sure I could have if I had stayed longer but I had to leave to get to my later plans. I needed to get rid of the anxiety or at least lesson it so I medicated. I went to my supplier, a small pastry and sandwich shop and got an exquisite chocolate cupcake, Just a few bites started to help. I then started to write a song about it helping. Being creative is generally as effective as chocolate as an anxiety treatment. It did wonders.

What were my mysterious "latter plans:" that I avoided naming? the opera at BAM! Le Jardin de Monsieur Rameau, staring the international diva Emilie Renard aka Emilie the English Fr�head! Emilie who spent much of a summer with me 9 years ago when she couch surfed across America. At my house she had not a couch but a room with a bed! I'm using a lot of exclamation points because its Emilie! I'm excited! It isn't like I see her when I run down to Trafalgar Square. Well I might if I ever ran down to Trafalgar Square but I'd have to run very fast, fast enough to not sink in the Atlantic. I've seen her once in 9 years. I needed an fix.

I sat with Chris and Seth, Emilie's friend Kat, and Bill. So here I was combining three of my favorite things in the universe, friends, opera, and Emilie! Remember I had chocolate before. I didn't neglect my religion, theobromaticism. OK so the Opera wasn't Wagner, and instead of elaborate sets there was a bare stage but it was still opera! It was still magnificent! It was still funny! It's a comic opera. I was actually disappointed because I thought there would be drawn panels with balloons coming out of people's mouths. But I did compare Emilie with another hero of mine, Daffy Duck. Chuck Jones, world's greatest cartoon director said that the purpose of Duck Amuck was to show that Daffy could still be Daffy without artificial externalities like sets and costumes. Emilie showed she could do the same. But she's cuter. Emilie wins.

The only negative was that my legs started to kill me after the intermission. I took a Tylenol but it wasn't enough. I was afraid my constant shifting position would bother people but nobody complained.

I'm almost out of time so I better wrap this up.

After the show we went to the stage door to wait for Emilie. Seth did his Marilyn Monroe impression. We met Richard another friend of Emilie's and his friend Courtney. I'm just showing off I remember their names. Finally Emilie emerged and we cheered. We just had time for an amazing hug and a few words and she had to hop on the bus to the hotel. I'll be seeing her before she leaves. I'm planning it for Monday I canceled my therapy figuring seeing Emilie was better for my psyche. I am pretty certain that is true.

Today I volunteered at WfUV and Joanie Madden was there so you know there was excitement. Now I'm off to First Acoustics to help out and to see Spuyten Duyvil and Karyn Oliver.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 20, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!