I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 06, 2008 - 12:43 p.m.

How to Win An Election

I made up for lost sleep last night. Now I'm awake the problem is my digestive system. I can't find my spare bottles of generic immodium. I hate buying it in the store because a pack of 12 cost the same as a bottle of 100 online. I might have to bite the bullet and buy it. It is wearing me out.

So now that I drove everyone away with my alimentary canal woes I'll write about school and the country.

I gave a test yesterday. The last question was:

If Barack Obama can pick a cabinet in 4 days and with Joe Biden's help he can do it in 3 days. How long would it take Joe to pick a cabinet alone?
I wrote that before the election. I was confident. How does my presidential scorecard look like now since I've been old enough to vote.

Wins: 4 � Carter, Clinton (2), Obama
Losses: 5 � Reagan (2), George H. W. Bush , George W. Bush (2)

That's not too bad. I can reach .500 next election. Of course the candidate I've supported in the primaries has never won.

The country is euphoric now but is going to have a major let down. There is probably not much Obama can do for the economy to keep it from getting worse before it gets better. There are no good choices in Iraq, it is choosing the lesser of evils.

In the long run it will get better. He has a chance to become a transformational president like FDR or Reagan. There is a crisis so people are more amenable to major change than they usually are. The problem is that this doesn't seem to be Obama's style. When he speaks of change he is talking much more of style than substance. He is going to have to stop shying away from partisanship. The vested interests are going to fight tooth and nail to keep things as they are and compromise is not on their agenda.

Worse comes to worse he will simply run the country well like Clinton did. That was pretty good if not transformational.

Right now I have a black president and governor and a Jewish mayor; that's pretty cool. The governor is blind and the president's name sounds foreign, that makes it more impressive. Don't believe those that think things never change. They change without you even knowing it. When did the country become one where a black could get elected? There was no clear line. Racism is still around but the population has started accepting as a given the ideals of the civil rights movement. The racists, for the most part, know they are not socially acceptable.

Not so the nontheistphobes (is there a better word for that). This is what many people are calling the most offensive campaign ad of the year.

I've seen many reactions to it and they all stress how Hagan is a Sunday school and elder in her church. The offence in their minds is Dole's dishonesty. I haven't heard one person say, "There is nothing wrong with being an atheist." As an amusing contrast I've heard dozens of people say, "People keep saying that Obama isn't a Muslim but nobody says, 'so what if he was one?'" Everyone thinks they are the only one that said that but I've heard it from just about everyone I've heard discuss it. As I've discussed before people object to an atheist holding office far more than they do blacks, women, or Muslims.

OK enough negative thoughts. I'm looking forward to Obama's inauguration. That is almost as full of hope as opening day of the baseball season.

I just remembered what I wanted to really write about. It is so difficult not having a brain.

Do you know why Obama won? Because I actively campaigned for him. I worked hard for Clinton both times and he won. To my great shame I never got around to volunteering for Gore and Kerry and look what happened. Now you might think I'm taking too much credit here, that I'm not capable of swinging an election but you are wrong. Just look at my family history. As my sisters can vouch for my father singlehandedly won World War II. First he defeated the Germans. He never went over to the Pacific but the very threat of the army transferring him there was enough to make the Japanese surrender.

That is pretty much what happened in the election. The word spread that I was going to PA to campaign and McCain lost heart. He knew he needed PA to win and with me there it wasn't going to happen.

I don't want you to think I did it alone. LORi's contribution was vital. That Obama guy helped a bit too. It was a team effort; I was just the deciding factor.

I hope I amuse my Gentle Readers half as much as I amuse myself.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 06, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!