I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 07, 2012 - 11:26 p.m.

Voting for Monotremes

Tomorrow is NERFA. I'm in an anxiety crisis related to it. I have to write a test. I have to pack. I am talking on the phone with LORi in a few minutes and at some point I have to talk to Aaron. So what am I doing now? Writing this. I wasted all day and I'm not going to be able to write till I get back. I'll have even more anxiety if I don't write this.

I haven't written in a few days. I'm going to just pick up on Tuesday aka Election Day. I went into Brooklyn to vote. I didn't have to as New York let people vote at any polling place because of Sandy. But that would be a provisional ballot and I couldn't be sure it would be counted so I went to Brooklyn Tech my regular polling place. So who did I run into on the way there? Marjorie. I had a feeling I might. She told me that the polling place was a madhouse but the long lines were to find out where to vote, if you already knew it wasn't bad. I always know my Election District. It''s printed on the voting card. You can also always find it online or by calling the board of elections.

I was in the Hank Aaron ED. Now some of you will know immediately what the ED was from that, it's 44, Aaron's number.

I always write in when there is an uncontested election. I wrote in two supreme court judges and one civil court. Mark, Carolann and Marjorie got the nod for the Supreme Court and Perry the Platypus for the Civil.

After the voting I was going to shop at Pathmark and I went in the store but realized that I didn't need anything immediately as I'm going away for the weekend so I didn't buy anything. I headed to Rockwood music hall for two sets, one by Jean Rohe on Stage 2 and Anthony da Costa on Stage 1. I got there late because of train delays but caught most of Jean's set.

I've seen Jean a number of times the last two years but I don't think I have ever seen her band in the same configuration twice. It's always something new. This show was very different, an election night special. Jean's shows are usually filled with world music in multiple languages. The music has the feel of distant lands. Not last night. The songs were in English and the feel distinctly American. You might think she was getting away from her forte but you'd be wrong. Jean is never a novelty act using exotic sounds for their own sake. Her songs are great because they are well written and she's a great performer. Yes I love the fact that she knows so many things that I don't know and shares them with me musically but she is so much more than that. She even has one song that is the future national anthem of the US. It has a sing-along chorus. I was going to just post the chorus but I forgot it by the time I got home. I emailed Jean and she sent me the whole song so I'll quote the whole thing,.

Atlantic and Pacific flow
The Great Lakes and the Gulf of Mexico
The land between sustains us all
To cherish it, our tireless call
Arise! Arise!
I see the future in your eyes.
To a more perfect union we aspire
And lift our voices from the fire.
We reached these shores from many lands
We came with hungry hearts and hands
Some came by force and some by will
At the auction block, in the darkened mill
CHORUS
We died in your fields and your factories
Strange fruit hangin' from the poplar trees
With an old coat hanger in a room somewhere
A trail of tears, an electric chair
CHORUS
Our great responsibility
To be guardians of our liberty
'Till tyrants bow to the people's dream
And justice flows like a mighty stream

The music is wonderful and the entire effect inspiring. It did what an anthem should do, it inspired a love of the country.

I would have loved to have talked to Jean but I couldn't as Anthony's show started just a half hour after hers. I missed the beginning of it. I was able to find a seat, not far from the lovely Lauraly. She was the only one I knew in the audience. I've been at shows of Anthony's where I knew a majority of the people there. Anthony hurt his hand and couldn't play guitar so he sang while his band played. Without a guitar in his and Anthony becomes Sammy Davis Jr. I'm not kidding. He has down his posture, movements, and facial expressions. I'd swear that one of his eyes turned to glass. It worked. I always love Anthony's shows and it's comfort music. Anthony is part of my musical family. I've been taken for his father enough times. He has some great new material. Check out his website Anthony da Costa.

I'd write more but I have too many things to do. I had a bit of a relapse with my Crohn's last night. I did not eat dinner and then spent the night running to the bathroom. The last time was at twenty after six and my alarm went off at eight so I did not get much sleep.

Now i have to straighten out my hotel reservations for NERFA and pack then get to bed. I might bring my computer with me so I can work on my test while I'm at NERFA. I'm giving it on Monday. Otherwise I have to stay up late tonight writing it and I won't be getting any sleep at NERFA so that isn't wise.

Oh yeah, there was an election. My guy won. Actually everyone I voted for won. Well maybe not the write-ins. Too bad. Perry would make an great judge. Judge P.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 07, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!