I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 22, 2016 - 11:23 a.m.

Eggistential Matters

Here's my dilemma. It's cold, I would like to put my heater on high but that would mean getting out from under the covers. I'm trying to do it by telekinesis. It didn't. work. Who would design a word where telekinesis didn't work? It's a necessity. We should also be able to teleport the content of our bladders so we don't have to get out of bed at night. This is just poor planning. I did it. Not by mental powers, I got out of bed.

It's 10:13 which is early for me to start writing but yesterday I was finishing up at this time. Maybe that's why I'm able to start this early today. Ideally this is when I went to be finishing. So yesterday at this time I was getting ready to go out and meet Carolann for coffee. This is what we do, we meet in the wee hours of the morning, 11 AM for coffee. We tried someplace new this time, Kos Kaffe in Park Slope. Is that name familiar to you? Once a week I used to write Wise Madness there when I was staying with Elrond and Celebrian. I would drive Celebrian to an appointment and I would wait for her there. They had great coffee, a nice staff, and Wi-Fi. The problem is I forgot the name. I even forgot where it was, I was thinking Brooklyn Heights. Then I remembered it had a K. Then that it spelled Kaffe like that. That was enough for me to find it right here in the pages of Wise Madness. What's odd is that I used to drive there and had not placed it in my mental map. It's right near the Union Street station on the . But as I said I didn't know that till yesterday. I got my phone out to use google maps to find the route and it kept not being able to do it. I got error messages. I tried putting airplane mode on and off and it didn't work. I spent so much time I left later than I wanted to. I decided to see if I could get it working outside and if not guess that Union Street was the right stop. I had the address and knew it was on 5th so worse comes to worse I'd just have to walk a bit. As soon as I got outside google maps loaded. Was there some kind of anti-google field in my room? A new product of Yahoo?

All this made me just miss the so I was running late. When I got to Atlantic Terminal to switch to the someone stopped dead on the stairs in front of me to look at his phone. The train was on the platform. This slowed me down enough to make me just miss it. He's on a crowded stairway with a train in the station, albeit not his train. He couldn't wait till he was out of traffic to look at his phone? There is a part of me that thinks I would have made the world a better place by pushing him down the stairs and trampling him om the way to the train. He clearly does not care about other people and probably murders people as a hobby.

I ended up being 15 minutes late. I hate making friends wait. Carolann said she was late too so she didn't wait the whole time. The next thing to go wrong was paying. I had no cash on me and they don't charge less than $10, I had to borrow from Carolann. After that things went very smoothly. I remembered right the coffee was great. I also remembered right that conversation with Carolann is great. We haven't met for coffee in a bit, there was all this stuff I thought I had told her about but didn’t. I had been seeing her at other places, we were both at Coco's New Year's Day party and I sat with her at Scott Wolfson's CD release show. This is why I wanted to live in Brooklyn, I'd have friends close by. How can it take two hours to drink a cup of coffee? I think we spent a little more time talking than eating. We then walked up to Atlantic Terminal together. We parted ways there and I went to Stop & Shop. They got in some but not all of the things they were out of last night. They still had none of the hot dog rolls from their own bakery, those are the best. Instead I got their mini-sum rolls which are like double sized hot dog rolls. I got razor blades so I you might actually see me clean shaven. The ridiculous razor that I've been using leaves me with a one-day growth of beard.

I also had to go to the bank which is near Trader Joe's so I planned a second shopping trip. I never do that. I went home, crashed for a bit, a long bit, all afternoon, into the evening, then headed out again. The one thing I totally needed at Trader Joe's was eggs. That was about it but their eggs are cheaper than Stop & Shop and I always get some treat there. When I arrived there was a line out the door. It's usually empty Thursday night. It was the impending snow of course. And so of course they were out of the eggs I usually get, the jumbo conventionals. I paid a bit more for a dozen brown cage-free eggs. I never get that. Eggs don't have legs; why do they feel the need to keep them in cages? All kidding aside cage-free is a marketing ploy. You might have images of the chickens walking around a barnyard like in a Foghorn Leghorn cartoon. The reality is that all it means is that there is a door the chickens can walk through to go outside but they never do. There's nonstop food inside, they don't want to leave that. I also bought free-range chicken soup. I'm not sure if there is a legal distinction between free-range and cage-free. I haven't made soup this year. Damn I forgot to buy sausages, I always put that in my soup. Well if I do get snowed in I can make it with bacon, that's good too. I have to buy some garlic though. I'll do that today.

How did I get to 1085 words when I thought I did nothing noteworthy? Someone once told me that their favorite editions of Wise Madness were when I wrote about little details of my daily life. That person should be happy. I had something planned for today but that's going to have to wait. What am I doing for breakfast today? I think it's grits and eggs. Tonight I'm going to see Bobtown at Spiral Sounds. There are still a few seats available. Come join me. The snow isn't starting till after midnight. It's very easy to get there by PATH train. It's a favorite band at a favorite house concert series.

I have to add one more thing. I just did the spellcheck and I didn't make a single typo. I think this is the first time that ever happened.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 22, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!