I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 17, 2018 - 11:38 a.m.

Eccentric Company

It turns out I'm not coming down with something. I am having severe coughing fits but it's just my post-nasal drip on overdrive. I had this in my late teens and early twenties. It's annoying but not debilitating and not contagious. Maybe I'll start taking my Zyrtec and see if it helps.

I stayed home yesterday because I didn't want to spread any possible disease and I didn't want to risk getting sicker. I'll go out today if the weather lets up. I wasn't sick, but I spent it as a sick day. I watched more TV than I have in years. I even watched one show on a television as it was being broadcast. That was the second half season premiere of The Flash. I also watched the two-part season finale of The Gifted, and Spiderman: Homecoming. I'm not sure how I feel about them reworking the Spiderman mythos to make him a high school student. It does mean that he still lives in Queens, as a native I'm happy to see it have a more respectable fictional resident than Archie Bunker. He lives in Forest Hills but most of the exterior shots were set in Long Island City, it's where it placed his fictional high school. The best touch was playing Forest Hill High School alumni, The Ramones, playing over the closing credits. It's always good to hear Blitzkrieg Bop.

I've been busy doing things and sticking to the point of late and left out important things like what I ate. I have a new favorite food, homemade Philly Cheese Steaks. I made it the other day with a mix of shredded pepper jack and Mexican cheeses. I'm losing my taste for Cheez-Whiz.

Drinking a hot chocolate made me wonder how often people are aware of their eccentricities. Huh? It's the way the mind works, not just my mind. I don't think this is an eccentricity though writing about it like this is. Back to the story. I was making my Swiss Miss Simply Chocolate mix. You have to add milk, not just water as in regular Swiss Miss. There's no powdered milk in it. That triggered a memory. When I was in elementary school I went to a friend's house on a cold day. His mother offered to make us hot chocolate. I have not changed my feelings about hot chocolate since then, I had to say yes. She then proceeded to put Nestle's Quik, now NesQuik in a cup and added hot water. Quik has no milk in it. It's meant to be mixed with milk, not water. I had a cup of diluted chocolate not a hot chocolate. The taste and consistency were not good. I didn't tell his mother that, but I wondered; Did she know that's not how you make hot chocolate? How could anyone who ever tasted a hot chocolate not realize this was not right? I still don't know if she knew she was doing something out of the ordinary, eccentric.

I know I have my eccentricities, I look around and see I do things that others don't. I have never seen another person clip their bag around the railing at the end of a subway car bench.

I walk around NERFA late night showcases in my sweats and slippers. I make peanut butter omelets. I could make an entire entry about my eccentricities. It might be better than this one but it's not what I've been thinking about. What I'm wondering is how common it is to be aware of when you are being eccentric. I've come across enough cases confirmed by discussion, of people not realizing they are doing something very few people do. There's nothing wrong with that except when they expect everyone else to cater to their eccentricity. "How can you make a left turn; you can just make three right turns?" If that's preceded by "I'm sorry, I have a weird thing where left turns make me uncomfortable, can you please make three right turns?" it doesn't bother me. Being annoyed by other people doing something inefficiently is one of my eccentricities.

Another one is when I'm home that I don't break my fast when I wake up, I eat brunch at a time when most people are eating lunch. When I do go out in the morning if I have time I make my own breakfast because I enjoy my own cooking more and I save money. If I don't have time I grab something on the way or when I get there. If breakfast is being served I eat there. What I find weird about myself is that if I'm meeting someone for lunch at the time I usually eat breakfast I eat breakfast at home early. I need my breakfast food.

That's the perfect segue into saying I have to go now because I'm hungry. It feels like a sausageeggandcheese roll day. I bet most people don't keep both patty and link sausages in the house, so they can have the best shaped sausage to go with what they are making.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 17, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!