I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 07, 2014 - 11:18 a.m.

Seal of Approval

Yesterday was one of those days I wished I taught at a real school. I gave an old final for the Finite Math class to go over and saw we covered only half the material. The students came into the class totally unprepared for the work. Then I went to my office for my three hour break. One of my old students came by She had arranged with the admin to take a make-up exam. He didn't show up. That happens all the time. I felt sorry for her, this is the second time it happened to her, so I had her call her prof and he emailed me the test, I printed it out and proctored it for her. Then I had to scan it and send it to her teach at the other campus. Then somebody had to send a fax. I didn't know how to do that but I did know how to scan and email, I had just done that so I showed her. So I was buy doing the admin's job. I don't get paid for that of course. I then gave an old final to study from to the precalculus class and found that we covered only half that material too. It's hard to do precalculus when you can't do arithmetic with fractions. We were doing reference angles and for them to figure out that 43-=43 requires a major effort. When I learned it the teacher just drew the picture and assumed we'd get the answer.

It didn't help that I had a bad night's sleep. I forgot why. I think it was tummy issues. I had more of them yesterday.

After school I attempted to race down to Noah's to do more work on the film. I didn't race as I had to deal with students and then forgot m water bottle in class. I was about half an hour late. Oh I had train trouble too. I got on the which just sat there. It was announced that there was a sick passenger at 42nd street. So I got off the train to go downstairs to take the sixth or eighth avenue lines. Of course as soon as I got off the train the doors closed and the train left. Then I had a long wait for the and when it came it was so crowded I couldn't get on it. Then another came. I can take that but the or would be easier. Then I had a long wait for the . And then it stopped at Union Square and we were told it was going to sit there. So I got out and walked to Third Ave. By then I was pretty frustrated.

Good thing I had fun with Noah. We walked to East River Park to film there. I had never been there before. It's beautiful.

Here's the obligatory shot of Noah videoing me.

He filmed me at the Park as we walked down from 20th street to Grand. At the south end I made some new friends.

That was a good part of the day. I like being a movie star and I like hanging ojut with Noah. There were some other good parts. On the ride to school someone across from me kept pointing down in front of me. I thought something was falling out of my bag or maybe my fly was open,. He didn't speak English well and I couldn't figure out what he was trying to say. Then someone else showed me. There was a dog sitting under my seat. It belonged to the lovely woman sitting next to me.

Just look at that face.

After the shoot I was tired and hungry and decided to not go home and start cooking but to grab something in the area. I'm not sure where it happened, I think at the WfUV pledge drive somebody told me about Big Daddy's Shakes. I googled it and went there for dinner. The ribs were half price but not that good. The tater tots were excellent. But that' not why I went. I went for this.

What is that? It's this.

Actually it's a little slice of heaven.

By the time I was done I was even more tired. I got on the subway and almost missed my stop. I was in a deep sleep. I got home and wasn't feeling great and fell asleep with my computer on my lap. When I woke up I was feeling better. I think I might have been feverish. I know I was cold.

I have nothing on my agenda today. I should go out and enjoy the spring weather. Maybe I'll go to the Botanic Gardens. I should do something.

Now for some breakfast. I'll keep it simple, bacon and eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 07, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!