I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 09, 2013 - 2:53 p.m.

Well Dunn

I had a lot to do before I could start writing. Now I only have 20 minutes or so, actually less. I'll start it now and finish after class and before therapy. This is going to be close.

Yesterday I did something all American, I went to the county fair. Of course the County is New York (Manhattan) and it was the West Side County Fair in Riverside Park.

Enjoy county fair magic in Manhattan and celebrate the change of seasons with carnival rides and games, live bands, sideshow performers, aerialists, reptile shows, greenmarket, and �Green Acre� environmental corner, with hands-on activities for kids about environmental awareness, green living, and animal care.

On the Main Stage: Paleface, Tumbling Bones, The Second Hands, and Laura Dunn and the Ghosts of Xmas Past

On the Plaza: Sideshow and aerial acts by The Lady Circus.


I had it on my calendar forever because Laura Dunn was playing. Now that's she's moved out to the great temperate rain forest, Oregon, I don't get to see her enough. I just noticed the other fun things late Saturday night. I scrambled yesterday to find someone to go with me but no luck.

So the rides were a bit of a disappointment. They were very, very little kid rides.


There was no county fair food! Can you call it a fair without funnel cake? But it was still fun. When I got there I started to explore and look for people I know. While I was busy looking and not seeing anyone Kirk, who plays bass in Laura's band, and half a dozen other bands I listen to, saw me and pulled me over. He told me that Honor was there volunteering. We looked for her to no avail. We did find Laura and they had a band meeting and I explored.

Other than the music, what do you think excited me the most? Come on guess. No not the reptile show. That's what Lori not LORi would love. So I asked her if she wanted to go. No what she said? "I love reptile shows but I hate you and don't want to breath the same air you do." Yes she really really said that! I mean would I lie about something like that? I am such a saint that I still love her. I do look good in a halo. No what I wanted was the Lady Circus, it has two things I love, ladies and circus. I don't have any pics from it. I have a video! Yes I AM awesome.

Kirk said Laura would go on after the circus but I know better than to trust Kirk. I perked my ears up and heard her singing so I had to leave before the circus was over. I missed the beginning of Laura's set. I will forgive Kirk because it was an understandable error, not done out of pure orneriness like Lori.

I have never seen Laura perform in the day before. No I take that back! I thought it was true but I saw her on the barge. I already had proof that she wasn't a vampire. Oh well, I forgot about that and learned once again that she isn't a demon, at least not that kind of demon.

Laura had interpretive dancers. Laura should always have interpretive dancers.


Photo Credit: Honor Finnegan


Laura


Kirk

Sorry I don't have a pic of just Bridget. I'm not even sure if that's how you spell her name.

At first I sat up front and took those pics then I noticed Honor and went back to sit with her. As much as I love being up front I like being with friends more.

Laura apologized for not being as creepy as usual. Right there is enough reason to love Laura. Her music IS creepy and that's what makes it great and the little kids loved it. I loved it. She even had a new song for me! This was great.

After the show Honor had to head out but I went to the Caf� with Laura and her friends, at least some of which were from the old school she taught at back here in Connecticut. I know that Jay and his wife whose name also starts with a J taught there. Then there was Guiseppe whose name sounds like it starts with a J. Then there is me whose name starts with a a G like Guisseppe. Laura was the odd man out. OK there was also Kirk and Bridget but that ruins my joke so they don't count for the purposes of this paragraph.

I unfortunately couldn't stay that late and had to bid that wonderful company adieu. I had to stop at the bank and then buy a few shirts. I have only one that's appropriate for school and that's not clean. I got to Marshall's only 5 minutes before closing. There are bins sorted by shirt size but unfortunately the shirts themselves are not sorted. You have to pretty much pick up shirts you like and check the size no matter where they are. I found two that fit me. The one I'm wearing is purple. Yes I wear purple shirts. Want to make something of it?

OK I have to get going or I'll be late for therapy. Here's the slideshow of the rest of my pics.

I wish I could rave more about Laura's music but no time now. I've done it before. Just note that she's ravable.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 09, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!