I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 14, 2015 - 11:42 a.m.

The Doctor on Valentine's Day

Weird morning. I woke up my usual time but felt groggier than usual. Hell I felt groggy. I usually wake up immediately. As soon as I got out of the bathroom my phone rang. I don't usually talk on the phone in the morning. I like some alone time. I got off the phone from that conversation and got messaged online. And that person wanted to talk on the phone. I told her I'd talk to her later. and went back to sleep. Now I'm up. and the cobwebs are clearing. If coffee were made I'd drink it. It isn't s I'm using writing to wake up.

Not much happened of course since I last wrote. So a quick catch up, yesterday morning I took the bus up from Philly where I had been visiting Steve and LORi. I usually don't eat breakfast in the morning. I eat midday when most people would have lunch. But yesterday I ate before I left. so I was actually hungry again in the early afternoon. I didn't have much to eat in the house and couldn't figure out what to eat till I realized that I bought mozzarella sticks and Trader Joe's and had them. They were good.

Then I went over to see Heather. I had to get the files off the hard drive from her old mac and put them on her PC. Steve had gotten some hardware for me to use but I needed to download software. I figured that all out and started to do it. I put down the computer as the transfer started and got up to get some water. as I did the hard drive slipped off the couch where I was working and disconnected. When I reattached it the software could no longer recognize it as a Mac hard drive. Ugh.

I consoled myself with Doctor Who I have finished watching the Matt Smith episodes. Good thing as Amazon Prime is discontinuing the series tomorrow. that's why I watched so much. I have big issues with the show, the writing is not intelligent, but it's still Doctor 'Who and it was so nice seeing Tom Baker!

OK here's a tip for all future writers of Doctor Who. There are two kinds of time travel stories, time adventure stories, and time paradox stories. In adventure stories the time travel is a device to get the protagonist to the scene of the action. It's what the first time travel story, H.G. Wells' The Time Machine was. It's what almost all the episodes of the original Doctor Who series were.

It is extremely difficult to write a time paradox story. It is almost impossible to make it logically consistent. It is even harder in a continuing series as whenever there is a crisis it is legitimate to ask, "Why don’t they just go back in time and change it" when something goes wrong. Steve Moffat is not nearly a good enough writer to handle this. There is one great time paradox story, By His Bootstraps by Robert Heinlein. It took someone of his caliber to pull it off. And it' not a full novel but a novella. Every piece in that fits perfectly which is why it is in the running as the greatest science fiction story ever.

The writers of the Classic Doctor Who were well aware of this and wrote adventure stories. The TARDIS was the functional equivalent of the Enterprise on Star Trek. It was both a literary and literal vehicle. There writers invoked the "Laws of Time to keep away the paradox issues. There were a few special events on anniversaries where the Doctor would meet himself but even then it was an adventure story. The Time Lords were somehow overseeing things to prevent paradoxes.

The new Doctor Who writers just make things up as they go for emotional effect. They count on people not wanting to think. That will never work for me. But I still like watching that blue box and the weird guy and his companions inside him.

The writers did put an Easter Egg for careful watchers of the old show. A big deal is made of nobody but River Song knowing the Doctor's real name. It's the central element of the episode "The Name of the Doctor." But in an earlier episode River leaves the Doctor a note written on the oldest cliffs in the universe. The note says "Hello Sweetie and below it are some symbols which we are told are space time coordinates for the Doctor to follow. But the first two are not Gallifreyan they are Greek Letters, ΘΣ. In the classic series episode "The Deadly Assassin" the Doctor goes back to Gallifrey and an old college chum recognizes him and calls him by his name, Theta Sigma. Yes that's what those letters are. Oh and the Doctor is not a title he took beause he wanted to reinvent himself as a person that helps people. It' obvious from the early episodes of the original series that was not what he was like at all. He was a cantankerous old man who was put in the situation where as was forced to help people. Also a few time a point was made that he went to grad school on Gallifrey and got a doctorate. Though one episode the Doctor said it was an honorary degree. But it was never thought of as a medical doctor. It designated a person of learning, not healing.

I've been writing too much about the series. The people that like it don't like what I write and the people that don't like about it don't care.

So you know what today is? Valentine's Day. I could write all about it but I don't have to. I can just tell you the songs I suggested for yesterday's WfUV Question of the Day, songs for Valentine's Day;

"Bye Bye Love" - The Everly Brothers
"The Kind of Love You Never Recover From" - Christine Lavin
"Where is Love" - Original cast of "Oliver"
"I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" – Hank Williams.
I can't leave you with that so I'll repeat of my favorite humor pieces I wrote here. I will update it a bit.

The Top Ten Things to Do if You Don't Have a Valentine On Valentine's Day.

From the Home Office in Toronto Ontario.

10. Say "Valentine's Day? Well it's about time they made a holiday for the old manager of the Mets."

9. Tell everyone that you had a date with Angelina Jolie/Brad Pitt (whichever would be appropriate) but you were afraid the tabloids would be all over you.

8. Do a google search on Tumblr + pathetic loser till you find someone whose life is so bad that yours looks great in comparison?

7. If you aren't bisexual realize that there is an entire gender that hasn't rejected you yet.

6. If you are bisexual, One word … extraterrestrials.

5. Send yourself an e-Valentine's Day card and sign it whoever you fantasize about.

4. Think of every Valentine as an ad for Open Heart Surgery and be glad you don't have one.

3. Prepare for your next lover: practice by yourself.

2. Say that Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow on Groundhog's day and that you are preparing for 6 more weeks of winter.

1. Two words … Circus Peanuts


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 14, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!