I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 28, 2014 - 3:52 p.m.

Do You Watch What I Watch

I am having a Crohn's attack now. I have a lunch date with Erika. I have plans for tonight, seeing two shows at Rockwood. I must get better now or I'll cry. Sigh

I updated after school yesterday so I have not done much since then. Ironically I made a big dinner, a steak and roasted potatoes with apple pie for dessert along with a banana. Oh and I had apple sauce. See what happens when I try to eat fruit? Whatever is stuck in me was not dinner. It has been in me longer than that.

When I got home I went to make dinner but when I left the kitchen to get something my nemesis here started making his dinner. The kitchen is tiny so I had to wait for him to finish. I used that time to call Erika and arrange for today's lunch That's significant, I was able to actually call her and make plans. I often have anxiety over that.

As I took my dinner out of the oven and tried to maneuver a new tenant decided he couldn't wait for me to finish and just HAD to use the kitchen at that moment. That led to some of my potatoes ending on the floor.

I am totally stuck on what to write about. I'm going to let it go and pick up writing after class. Hopefully I'll be feeling better then.

I got dressed, I looked sharp dressed all in black, and called Erika and canceled. There is no way I can eat now. I missed too many classes so I can't cancel. I still hope to be in good enough shape to go out tonight. We'll see. Now I'm in bed and not feel very well at all

But on the bright side I thought of something to write about that you might actually enjoy. The starting point is that I watched the first episode of Cadfael. Cadfael was this marvelous British TV show that was shown here on Mystery. It is somewhat reminiscent of The Name of the Rose as it's about a medieval monk solving mysteries. It stars of my favorite actors Derek Jacobi as Brother Cadfael. I discovered him as did so many others in I Claudius my favorite Masterpiece Theater. When I went to IMDB so I could link to the entry on it I discovered that Hugh Berninger was originally played by Sean Pertwee. That�s such an unusual name that I had to check and see if he was the son of Jon Pertwee, The third Doctor Who. He is! He was replaced in the second season.

I didn't remember much about the show, just the premise, which makes it perfect for rewatching. It is as good as I remember it. It works as a mystery, a drama, and social commentary. And it combines two of my favorite things, Stories with rationalist detectives and historical fiction. It got me looking up some of the history. It takes place during The Anarchy, the war of succession following the death of Henry I of England. Henry appointed his daughter Empress Matlilda aka Empress Maud, his successor but she was not accepted by people of London and a faction of barons and Stephen became the king. In the series King Stephen is the bad guy and Maud the good. At least in the first episode. To put it in chronological perspective Maud is the mother of Henry II of Beckett and Lion in Winter fame and the grandmother of Richard the Lionhearted. So this is two generations before Robin Hood and conditions were similar.

Brother Cadfael is a retired soldier and crusader who has seen the world and he's a scholar. He's a monk but a rationalist. Now that could be what I could write about. I thought of making this about religion. But I'm going in a totally different direction.

Cadfael is one of my touchstone TV shows. It got me to read the books. But I have never heard anyone else talk about it. So I'm going to list other shows like that. My cultural icons that I don't share with anyone I know. I would of course love to hear if ou love them too. A disproportionate number of them will be British.

The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin: It's a Britcom that ahd three runs of 7 episodes. Only the first is classic. I found the second unwatchable. I never saw the third. But that first series was amazing. It was one story arc of a man that totally drops out of his life. He fakes suicide and becomes a different person. He starts tending pigs and ends up a huge success, thus the fall and rise. I put it ahead of even Fawlty Towers and I adore Fawlty Towers

The Equalizer: A series set in New York when that was rare. Robert McCall played by the great Edward Woodward was a retired CIA agent who now devotes his life to helping people. "Need help, the odds are you call the Equalizer." I picked up wearing all black from him, not because it's stylish.

Blake's 7: It was created by Terry Nation of Doctor Who fame, I have written about it here before. Firefly is a pale shadow of Blake's 7. Firefly took more than a few ideas from it. I know Rob likes it and I wouldn�t be surprised if Scott did too.

Nowhere Man : The only show other than the Prisoner I would call Kafkaesque. All the other hidden mystery shows, X-Files, Lost, etc, pale in comparison. A man leaves his table at a restaurant, he comes back and nobody recognizes him including his wife. It's identity theft taken to an entire new level. The show was his quest to discover what happened and expose it while escaping the further machinations of the people behind it.

Rumpole of the Bailey. My favorite lawyer show ever. The quirky barrister Horace Rumpole solved crimes, absolved his clients, and dealt with "She Who Must Be Obeyed" aka his wife. Leo McKern was brilliant in the title role. He was also the most memorable #2 on The Prisoner.

I'm still having a Crohn's attack. I finished class. Now I have to crash. I think I'll go home and see if I feel up to going to Rockwood tonight.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 28, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!