I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 17, 2015 - 12:24 p.m.

Sing Along with Horvendile

WooHoo, I finished transferring all my files from my old computer to my new one via Wi-Fi. Was that the best way to do it? I'm so happy it worked. I now have all my music, pictures, and documents, even a few videos. I turned the old computer off. I will probably never turn it on again. I should remove the hard drive. I could use that as an external. How do you dispose of a laptop? Why did nobody suggest that I move all my files via Wi-Fi? I have to think of everything myself. Nobody carries me around in a litter either. Now I'm reminded f an imaginary conversation I had with a friend and was considering posting here. Yesterday I was a bit bleak so I'll make up for it now by being ridiculous. I have to change the names here to protect the guilty, me.

How can anyone believe in a benevolent god when Lúthien won't marry me? Sure I have never even asked her out or shown any romantic interest in her and I don't actually know her that well and I think she might be gay but in a well-run universe she'd just come up to me and say, "I want to get married and make babies with you." And that's my latest argument for atheism.

I not only added Lúthien to my custom dictionary I set my edition of word to automatically include the accent mark. Yes I make sure my computer knows Elven languages.

Yesterday I went to therapy. Unlike this week my therapist did the same. She was on vacation last week and I forgot. OK who knows why? Right because I'm an idiot. It's amazing how many people object when I call myself an idiot. Well if I'm not an idiot, doesn't thinking I'm an idiot make me an idiot? Norman coordinate. Yes I am clearly in one of those moods.

Then what exciting things did I do. I bought bagels and then went to Gunz European Imports. They give you a 10% discount if you check in on social media when I'm there so I did. I got chocolate cream filled chocolate chip cookies and an Easter Bunny and Eggs package for Heather. Then I headed home, cut the bagels and froze them. So it took me forever to realize that instead of putting the bagels in zip lock bags that I buy I can just put them in old bread bags. They take up less space and of course I don't have to buy anything special. I of course should have always done that. Know why I haven't? I'm an idiot. See I told you. Why don’t you believe me? Calling me a liar?

I then set up transferring all my music. The photos had finished while I was at therapy. I have a lot of photos. They took longer than the music. There were also videos mixed in with them. Everything from my camera gets put into photos.

Then I headed over to Heather for dinner. I told her that I'd make it bring everything I need. I put two tablespoons of brown sugar in a small zip lock bag. I felt like I was preparing drugs for sale. I told her it was brown heroin. Did you read about the middle school kid in Virginia that was suspended for a year for bringing a leaf to school and allegedly telling kids in school it was marijuana. It wasn't marijuana, they tested for it and the school knows this and still suspended him for a year. This is pure idiocy. Drugs make people stupid and they don't have to even take the drugs for the effect to work.

I made Heather my now famous sweet garlic chicken. Why is it famous? I keep writing about it here. This is the most widely read blog written in this room. It came out perfect yet again. I did something much simpler with the hasselback potato. I just put a slice of American cheese on the top and put it back in the oven for three minutes. That's a lot easier that trying to make the shredded cheddar cheese stay on top of it.

I cheated on Leah! When Leah and I get together we sing "Do You Love Me?" from Fiddler on the Roof. When Heather was on the phone I sang it with Heather's roommate Ellen who played Hodel in Fiddler. It's a great song.

How can I not be shy about singing that with people that can sing? I'm so anxious about everything else. But I'll do it. I'll sing for singers. Some of my great bonding moments have come from that.

I had perfect timing coming home. I waited less than a minute for the bus to come. The Bus Time page of the MTA website is the best thing ever. OK maybe not the best but it's in the top 756.

Tonight is On Your Radar. Two of the three acts are my peeps, Skye Steele and for St. Patrick's Day, Burning Bridget Cleary.. I'm looking forward to that.

Now to eat breakfast. Feels like a breakfast sandwich day.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 17, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!