I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 10, 2015 - 12:23 p.m.

Please Don't Block the Doors

Hey I'm starting this only an hour late. That's good for me. You take the progress you can. OK it's no hour later and I'm starting on the second sentence. So sad.

Yesterday's adventure was checking out a space where I might be able to curate a concert series. Yes you heard that right. I'm actually not optimistic, I don't think I can make it work. I have to discuss this with some musicians. Now if someone had a house that I could use for house concerts that would be ideal. If you provide the house I'll do everything else.

The place was in very west Chelsea not that far from where I used to work on the market research job from hell. I walked by the place I worked for old time's sake. I seem to have blanked out most of my memories of it. I remembered it. Then I had to go to the bank on 20th st and 6th avenue. I still had energy so I walked from there down to W 4th street to catch the or . I took that to Atlantic Terminal to pick up some things from Pathmark. Of course I forgot something, butter. I'm almost out. What I did remember to buy was matzoh! I am going to have matzoh brei for breakfast this morning. Think matzoh brei with brie would be good? I make that typo so often it can be an excuse.

Know what I did when I was on the subway and even after I got home? I read! This is very exciting. It's still difficult with my eyes but I can do it for Terry Pratchett. I read 68 pages yesterday. With my eyes right I would have read twice that.

I keep forgetting to tell you about my Facebook ad. I took one out for Gordon Nash Tutoring. So far it's a total bust. I restricted the ad to people from Brooklyn and Manhattan, my first hit was from the Dominican Republic, then Jersey, the Bronx. Many of the hits look fake like the one with a Cyrillic name where all the posts were in French. It was a waste of money but now I know.

Every day I'm tempted to write about people who are oblivious to the fact that there are other people in the world. I often encounter them on the subway Today I'll write about one because she did two of the cardinal sins blatantly. I always wait at the same spot for the at Atlantic Terminal. I want to be at the front of the front car to make it easy when I get to my station. There is a pillar by the front door of the train, I wait by the pillar. That leaves me standing right next to the door in a place where nobody exiting will want to go because of the pillar. There was a woman there yesterday. I was impressed, somebody else knew my trick. But she didn't. When the train pulled in but before the doors opened she positioned herself directly in front of the door blocking everyone who wanted to get off, about a quarter of the people on the car. She made them squeeze past her. Then when she got on she walked into the door, dead center and stopped blocking everyone behind her trying to get on. She's a true solipsist.

OK here's something I always wonder about. I so often get in a car where people are packed like sardines by the door while there is plenty of room in the middle of the car. Why do people choose to stand in such an uncomfortable place? Why does the person on the edge of the open space not move four inches so she won't be pressed against somebody? Is everyone afraid they won't be able to get off at their stop? This has never happened to me and I always go for the point where the train is least crowded, as far from the doors as possible I hardly ever have close calls.

And now the matzoh brei is calling me. I better heed the call. .



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 10, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!