I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 12, 2013 - 1:50 p.m.

Escape from the Blue

As usual I started writing this far later than I wanted to. At least today I have an excuse. I had micro Crohn's attack today. It started while I was teaching with a headache. I noticed it more because it caused me to make mistakes. Then the belly started hurting. My plan was to run home, take 20 mg of prednisone, then come back to school. That should take 2 hours and I have three between classes so I could make it. I had to help a student first and in the 15 minutes I was helping her the obstruction passed. The entire episode lasted maybe 45 minutes.

Now let's go back to the deep past, yesterday and the byzantine path my mental state has taken. My Gentle Readers know that I had a tough week. I had anxieties attacks and was very unhappy. I didn't pick up till I went to Prospect Park on Sunday. I really needed my Monday therapy session. My therapist sent me a message on Sunday reminding me that next week's session was on Tuesday not Monday. I wondered why she did that this week. I was running a few minutes late and sent her a text telling her that. When I got to therapy I got a message from her saying that she was snowed in out of town and couldn't make the session. That's what she was trying to say in her text on Sunday. It is what she said but she didn't highlight that, what I noticed was the date of next week's session. It was my fault.

I didn't want the trip to be a waste so I decided to see a movie, either Lincoln or Django Unchained. It was 3:50 when I got the movie times on my phone. One started at 3:40 and the other 3:50. Arrgggh. They were both nearby but I didn't want to miss the beginning as I did for the Hobbit. Instead I saw the 4:35 Django in the Times Square area. They showed 25 minutes of previews. If I had known that I'd have gone to the 3:50 showing. They showed no previews when I went to see The Hobbit and couldn't get there earlier.

The film was great. I had no problems with the language. The entire point of the film was the brutality of slavery. It would be absurd to show the physical abuse and feel the need to soften the language. Slaves were called "niggers." Saying anything else would be a lie.

As in all Tarantino films the violence was over the top. The blood always splatters all over the place. The one thing that bothered me for looking totally phony was when someone was shot from above and flew backwards in the air so fast it was comic. As they showed in Mythbusters when someone is shot they hardly move at all. And that is what happens other times people are shot in the film. Still it's a Tarantino film so you go in expecting the violence.

I had a few other quibbles the biggest being that it was derivative of Unforgiven and not many films ever look good compared to that. Still it was really good film, perhaps great. I give it 3.5 stars.

I of course sat through to the end of the credits. When I got up I looked at my seat and saw a rotten banana on it. I'm not sure if it was there when I sat down. It was during the ads before the previews so the theater was somewhat dark. I did run to the bathroom for a very short time during the film. Maybe somebody maliciously put it there when I did. In any even I wasn't happy about it. I could feel the wetness through my pants. I told the woman who was cleaning the theater. She led me down to customer service. The theater is huge so that is a trip. It took me 8 minutes to get from the entrance to my seat when I came in. I told customer service what happened and he said it was my fault for not checking the seat but without any discussion of what happened gave me comp to the theater. I thought that was inadequate but he wouldn't discuss that either. It is good for any movie so I'm going to wait till there is a 3-D Imax to use it as they are the most expensive films. I would have liked at least two passes so I wouldn't have to go alone.

That put me in a terrible mood. It was the straw that broke the camel's back. I felt like the guy in Lil Abner who always had a cloud over his head. My life is tough enough why did that had to happen to me? It was late, as I had missed the earlier shows and didn't feel like having my usual Monday special therapy meal. I just wanted to get home as fast as possible. I should have stopped at Nathan's one subway stop away but instead went to my subway station and had pizza from the local pizzeria. It wasn't very good. I was as blue as Frank Sinatra's eyes.

When I got home I vegetated for a while then went to edit the photos on my phone. Going through my photos of Prospect Park brought me back from the blue. Here are some of the highlights of why I love New York and Brooklyn and yes, people.


See the woman cross country skiing with the dog? I loved that she was skiing. I loved her dog. It looked like a supersized version of Tamsie my dog growing up. She had that same sweet face. I told that to the woman and we had a nice little talk.


That snow man says "Ed Koch" on it. I talked to the people standing there and found that somebody had knocked it down and they put hizzoner back on his feet. As I put it they resurrected the mayor.


Yes that's beagles pulling a little kid's sled. How can you not feel good when seeing that?

It is appropriate that on Darwin's birthday I show the evidence that snowmen like humans evolved from arboreal ancestors.

I tried something new. I made a video out of the photos with music by the Kennedys. It takes a greater talent for unhappiness than I possess to not feel good watching it.

And now I have to run to class. Arggh, I have to print up a quiz first.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 12, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!