I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 21, 2013 - 12:39 p.m.

Discovery Channel Part 1

The wifi just went out. That's making me write which is good but it means I can't post this of course till it comes back. I also can't check URLs for links. Oh well.

Yesterday was anxiety through the roof day. I bit the bullet and bought a new phone. I spent way more money than I wanted to, I got the Galaxy S3. I went back to Radio Shack but the knowledgeable man I talked to the other day wasn't there. I really wanted him to get the commission but my phone kept going out so I couldn't wait. Unfortunately the woman that helped me knew nothing and the anxiety kept building.

I didn't remember my Boost Mobile Pin, I have a feeling I never set it as if I had I know what it would be. That meant calling them up. This probably wasn't her fault but the woman went through the menus for 20 minutes. Then handed the phone to me when it came to the parts that actually involved knowing how to use the phone. Which of course I didn't. The man at Boost wanted me to make a phone call. I didn't know how. When I asked the sales person she said, "the regular way." It is totally different than the phone I owned. What was the regular way to me didn't work. Why did she think I was asking? When she did things for me I asked her how she did it but she never showed me. she held the phone si I couldn't see what she was doing. Every step of the way she wasn't helpful. The process took so long. I asked her to transfer my contact list from my old phone. The great sales clerk from the other day said that was no problem. They'd transfer everything. With her it was a problem. I had to list every single thing I wanted transferred. I don't know everything I needed transferred. I said my contacts and my music. To make things worse she took time out to help another customer instead of finishing with me. I was in total anxiety attack mode by the time I was done. It was so late I missed a show I wanted to go to. Kat Quinn and Caitlin Mahoney were backing up a friend on a show for her birthday. I didn't know the friend and figured I'd check her out.

I came home, microwaved the soup I made for dinner the other day then headed out for the second half of my planned musical double-header, Miss Tess at Bar 11. I was actually a little late for that. Tess was great and I took pics that I'd show you if I could get on the internet. Tess is always great. I'd have enjoyed it more if I could have relaxed but the anxiety wouldn't leave.

I fixed the router, I just did a hard reboot, so I can show you pictures.


Maybe you can help me I thought I sychnronized my contacts with Google but it says I have no starred contacts even though when I go on gmail from my laptop I see them. Is there a way that I can have my contacts only show the ones with phone numbers? I had that on my crummy old phone. I thought that was an Android feature.

I'm still anxious so I'm going to do something that doesn't require much thinking on my part. I had a discussion with Fred the other day on how we discover new artists. I'm going to list the people that played the Budgiedome and those whose CDs were released this year and tell you how I discovered them and tally up the results.

Kat Quinn - I met Kat when she went to an On Your Radar with Kathy. They are both Marblehead friends of Pesky J. Nixon.

Pesky J. Nixon � Jake and Ethan separately introduced themselves to me at Falcon Ridge. That was at the suggestion of Anthony, Abbie, Brian, and Katie.

Roosevelt Dime � How do I classify them? I met Andrew when he sat in with Red Molly but I first saw the band at NERFA so I'll give them credit.

Honor Finnegan � I met Honor when she was in the audience at Christopher Street. We were introduced by some Chicks with Dip, I think Carolann and Meg.

The YaYas � I don't remember how we met. I think it was at Falcon Ridge. Do you remember the how and why? It was social, I knew them as people before I saw them perform.

Karen Dahlstrom � I discovered Bobtown at NERFA so I'll say that.

Karyn Oliver � Give credit to the Chicks with Dip again. I am pretty sure I met her at one of Meg's birthday parties.

Jeremiah Birnbaum � I met Jeremiah at one of the Jack Hardy memorials at Christopher Street. I met a lot of people there.

The Lords of Liechtenstein � I saw them at a Christopher Street open mic. Erik Balkey introduced us. I met a lot of people there. I'll count that as an introduction from a friend.

Spuyten Duyvil � I don't know who suggested it but Mark came to the Budgiedome and introduced himself. There are perks of being with the Budgiedome. Musicians come to us.

Bobtown � Pure NERFA. I had never even heard of them before.

ilyAIMY � Three people, Becca, Henry, and Brian told me to look out for them at Falcon Ridge. I met them by the Lounge Stage. Another social contact first.

Martin Swinger � I just met Martin walking around Falcon Ridge. I didn't know he was a musician and he didn't know I was a whatever I am. We just found ourselves talking to each other every year.

Carolyn Waters � I saw her at NERFA

Putnum Smith � He was part of the Spuyten Duyvil Jam at the Budgiedome

Paul Sachs � I met him at Jack's memorial.

Counting it up I saw three perform when I was there to see other people, I met nine socially, and four I discovered at NERFA. I'll have to do this from some older Budgiedome. I met a lot of people socially first. I would not have guessed that. OK that's all for now. I'll next make a list of all the people I've seen perform not counting On Your Radar and Falcon Ridge and see where I discovered them.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 21, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!