I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 01, 2006 - 10:58 a.m.

Love Among The Dinos

Yesterday when I got to the hospital my mother was sitting up in her chair. She complained that I never brought her the paper. I did, I bring Newsday every day for me to read. I gave her part two and she wanted to do the crossword puzzle. We lost her pen so I went down to the gift shop to get one for her. When I got back she started to happily work on the puzzle. The phone rang and while I was telling someone how well my mother was doing she started leaning over forward, closing her eyes, and saying that she had to get back into bed. That was it for the day. Once we got her back into bed she never really woke up again the rest of the day. I could rouse her for a few seconds at a time, that's it.

Her regular doctor said he'd be there at six and I decided to try and talk to him then. I went home for a bit and came back at 5:45. I waited around to 7:15, the end of single Jeopardy, and gave up and went home. I had a message on my machine when I got there. He called at 7:23; I just missed him. He thinks the problem is caused by the Lexapro so he's taking her off it.

Alison came over last night and is going to spend the day with my mother. That means I have the day to myself. I think I'm going to go to the Museum of Natural History. It is going to be over 100° and humid so I have to make sure to stay inside as much as possible.

The other day Emilie said that she bored and wanted Americans to entertain her so I wrote her an excerpt from "Jurassic Brokeback Mountain Park." Today I'll give here an excerpt from near the end of the film.

The set up; 70,000,000 years after the last one. The earth has been hit by the giant asteroid that wipes out the dinosaurs at the end of the Cretaceous period. T Rex and Styrachosaurus have been brought back to life by scientists and have picked up their relationship where it left off.

The scene: the Bedroom of Sty and Rex.

Sty: Lets play Boromir and the hobbit.

Rex: Why can't we just talk for once? Why do we have to play these ridiculous sex games all the time?

Sty: I'm just trying to keep our relationship fresh. I heard about it on Oprah.

Rex: You are always horny.

Sty: I'm a Ceratopsian the name means "horned face" I can't help it. You are a Tyrannosaurus; is that why you are such a tyrant?

Rex lets out a growl and leaps on Sty; a tempest of teeth and claws. Sty turns to face him, protected by his mighty frill. They engage in a fight to the death. This rekindles memories. This is exactly the way they first met. History repeats itself, the fight transforms itself into violent love making. Their love is once again rekindled.

Sty: So now who's the one that is horny?

Rex: Fine, you had your way again. Don't forget tomorrow night we are having dinner with the Stegasaurs.

Sty: Great another night of hearing about him bragging about how sharp his tail is and watching her polish his plates. Their brains must be the size of dwarf walnuts.

Fade to black



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 01, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!