I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 24, 2018 - 2:04 p.m.

Terrible Lizards

I sat down to write and came up with blanks. I decided to see if I could find some inspiration. I did; in the grey pages of the New York Times. Can I still say that if I read it online? On the top stories there were two that had dinosaurs in the headline. Neither was about dinosaurs. Still, they were about paleontology and the Mesozoic and excited me. That's my inspiration, dinosaurs.

Dinosaurs might be my very first love. I don't remember not loving dinosaurs. Well before I could read my father would read me dinosaur books. Some I owned and others we'd take out of the library. I would look at and when I was older read these books every few days. Sometime in my preschool days I got my first plastic dinosaurs. I bet there are recommended for children older than I was because of them being a choking hazard. Good thing in those days parents weren't as careful. From then on, a new set of dinosaurs would get me excited. I kept them in my bucket of dinosaurs. I never outgrew them. I had them until I lost all my things in storage. The only difference is that my dinosaurs got bigger. I moved up to the large British Museum models. They were models, even the small ones, not toys. I only wanted the ones with the name of the dinosaur on it and its length. You needed very good eyesight to read them, but I was a kid and had very good eyesight.

I was disappointed my first time going to the American Museum of Natural History. This was as a preschooler. I thought dinosaurs were as big as the Empire State Building. That disappointed might have lasted a whole minute until I was running to look at the bones up close. They were displayed more dramatically when I was a kid. There was a triceratops facing off against a tyrannosaurus in the Hall of Late Dinosaurs and an Allosaurus feasting on a brontosaurus in the Hall of Early Dinosaurs.

When I was a little older my parents took me to the Peabody Museum at Yale University. They have this wonderful giant mural giving the history of life with dinosaurs as the centerpiece. My parents indulged me and got a print of it that they had mounted. It hung on the wall of my bedroom because every kid should have dinosaurs watching over him.

Once I went to the American Museum of Natural History I wanted to be a paleontologist. I didn't become one, but I never strayed from wanting to be a scientist. I love dinosaurs because I'm a geek and I'm a geek because I love dinosaurs. I still get excited by them. When I visited my sister Sue in Texas I made sure to go to Dinosaur State Park where I could walk in dinosaur footprints. That reminds me that as a kid I went to Dinosaur Land; a park featuring homemade papier-mâché models of prehistoric creatures. I'm pretty sure that everything was done by the married couple that ran it. It was in Brewster NY. Anyone else go there?

If I ever get my life settled, I'll start rebuilding my dinosaur collection. When I get my eyes fixed I should catch up on my dinosaur reading. There have been so many discoveries made that I've read about in magazines and newspapers but not books.

There have been three great revelations about dinosaurs since I was a kid; Dinosaurs were warm-blooded, dinosaurs were killed by an asteroid, and that birds are dinosaurs. The importance of the asteroid is still debated. The earth was hit by an asteroid that caused devastation but there is a competing theory that it was mainly massive vulcanism. There's even a theory that the asteroid triggered the vulcanism.

I loved the other two discoveries. Finding that dinosaurs were warm blooded active animals made them even more exciting that the sluggish beasts of my childhood. T-Rex could run after you. Deinonychus was an acrobatic predator.

Best of all birds are dinosaurs. That means that dinosaurs are not extinct! Every sparrow we see is a dinosaur. I eat at Kentucky Fried Dinosaur. There were dinosaurs with feathers. There were big dinosaurs with feathers. T-Rex might have had feathers. That makes them look even cooler.

Writing this made me happy. Dinosaurs are right up there with music, baseball, and chocolate. Now I need a dinosaur fix. Who wants to go to the Museum of Natural History with me?



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 24, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!