I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 11, 2014 - 10:51 a.m.

Music by DeBarge

I have a lot to do today. I am going to be good and write. I need to have everything written, and have eaten by noon when I'm having a video conference with Brianne. We have important Budgiedome business to discuss.

Last night I went to The Waterfront Museum to see Roosevelt Dime. It's in Red Hook, not an easy place to get to from here. It's a subway and a bus. I didn't have to do that, Fred picked me up. I was during rush hour and traffic is a problem so we let Waze guide us. It did a good job except one street was one-way and it didn't know that. We got there late for us. Normally we are the first ones there. Still we got good seats, down front but off to the side. We were next to Richard and Viki.

The museum is a special venue. It's a barge that a wreck that the owner bought and restored. It was filled with sand when he got it. It took a long time to restore. I've been there once before to see Laura Dunn. You can read about it here, Barging In. I was going to use that for today's title. Now I have to think of something else.

I discussed doing a concert series the first time I was there but I'm me and I freeze and Coco beat me to it. I didn't mention that, this was part of First Acoustics. Their first show there. It's a great place for concerts though hard to get to even with a car. The best way might be the Ikea Ferry from Manhattan.

Roosevelt Dime lost their horn section but added Craig Akin on bass and still rock the Casbah. Maybe I should use the David Morreale version, they "rock like slayer used to." I came up with a title for an album of covers of old songs, "Mercury Dime." I didn't tell them but they are tagged so they will see it. I expect a credit in the liner notes.

The best thing I can say to convey what the band does it to tell you that by the end most people were dancing.

During the break we went out on the pier and enjoyed the view of the Statue of Liberty and the Verrazano Bridge. You can only see one building in Manhattan, the World Trade Center. Nothing gives a better idea of how big it is. It towers over the Brooklyn buildings but none of the other downtown skyscrapers can even be seen. If my camera batter weren't dead I'd have taken a picture. Fred got some great ones of a spectacular sunset by the Statue.

After the show Fred drove me home. That saved me a ton of time. Thanks Fred.

I ate when I got home. I had chicken wings and hot sauce and planned on Buffalo Wings and plantains. first thing I noticed was that I didn't have the disposable pan I planned on using for the plantains so I had to fry them instead of popping them in the oven with the wings. They taste great that way but not as healthy. A few minutes before the wings were ready I went to get the sauce out o the fridge.. It wasn't there! The thief in the house must have stolen it My back up plan was my barbecue sauce.. That was gone too! ARRRGGHHH. I would not have made wings if I knew I didn't have hot sauce. I ended up putting some jerk powder on them but that's better when you cook it in. Good thing I made them perfectly so it wasn't terrible but it was not the special treat I had been looking for. I told the landlady that she has to replace the sauces and buy me new wings. I hate doing it to her but she won't throw the thief out ad I have to keep putting up with this crap. I had to make an ice cream soda to feel better. I know how to take care of myself.

Last night during all that fun music my anxiety returned for the first time since that magic moment on Sunday. It was unfocused anxiety. Many of my friends get that. Usually mine is about something. I'm still feeling it. I'm talking to Brianne in a bit and I'm seeing Bobtown tonight and if there were justice in the world they'd make me feel better but it doesn't always work that way. The magic strikes when it strikes. I will just enjoy the perfect moments while having anxiety.

The WfUV Question of the Day was "water" songs. Here's what I suggested:

"Love is the Water" by Pat Wictor
"Bring Me A Little Water Sylvie" by Lead Belly
"Flood Waters Rising" by Bobtown
"Water" by Jean Rohe
Bobtown and Jean are the two bands that I suggest the most. Fred suggests Vienna Teng more than I suggest the two combined.

Then I did a search of my computer's music library and liked what came up so much that I listened to all of them.

Ana�s Mitchell/Jefferson Hamer � "Clyde Waters"
Bobtown � "Flood Waters Rising"
The Decemberists � "Annan Waters"
ilyAIMY � "In the Water."
Jean Rohe � "Water"
Johnny Cash � "He Turned the Water Into Wine"
The Sea the Sea � "Watertreader"
Tara O'Grady � "The Water is Wide"

Each of those is a super favorite, not just a favorite. And that's every song that has water I the title. I didn't edit any out. Makes me think of the line from the Orange Catholic Bible from Dune; "From water does all life begin." I wonder if any other word would generate as good a list. I'd find it hard to believe.

Now on to breakfast, matzoh brei with Taylor ham.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 11, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!