I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 22, 2012 - 2:56 p.m.

Deni Thy Father ...

I'm going to try and get this written between classes. That doesn't usually work out but if at first you don't succeed �

I had a slow start yesterday. I don't mind that on a quiet Sunday. I made myself a nice breakfast an andouille sausage/jalape�o jack cheese omelet. I make things easy for myself by cooking the sausage in the microwave. When put in an omelet you hardly notice the microwaving. The one thing I haven't made yet since I moved is bacon and eggs. Bacon is expensive everyplace in my new neighborhood. I'm going to run over to Pathmark today and see if I can get it cheaper there. I'll also see if I can get Taylor ham. That�s the two things I have most often with breakfast and I haven't made either since I moved to Hogwarts.

My entertainment for the day was seeing Deni Bonet at Henrietta Hudson. As you might guess that's on Hudson Street. I'm on Eighth Ave which starts at Hudson so it was a straight walk of just about a mile. On Facebook the event was listed as starting at 4:00. I got there at 3:50 and Deni said, "You're here early." I said, only ten minutes. But it turned out that she didn't go on till 5:00 so I had an hour to kill. I went to Petite Abeille one of my favorite restaurants that I hadn't been to in ages. I had never been to this one. I didn't even know it was a chain. God they have a horrible website. I can't find how to make the music stop and you have to just move the pointer around to navigate. Nothing is listed when you hit he right spot the link appears. I was looking for the Brunch Menu. I had the Poffertjes, mini Flemish Pancakes and a hot chocolate. I already knew that the hot chocolate was the best in the City. It was my first time having the pancakes. They were out of this world. There is one closer to my house. I might become a regular there. If you visit me I'm taking you there for brunch. After that I walked around the neighborhood and over to the Hudson River. I got back 15 minutes before the show started. I played with my phone and talked to Andy and Paul, Deni's husband and manager respectively.

When it was show time Deni came out and unfortunately there weren't many people in the audience. Some of the people at the bar were there to see Deni but others were just drinking. Of course we all know it the quality of the audience that matters, not the quantity.

I have never not loved a set by Deni. I always play association in my head but there is nobody that lives in the same part of my brain as Deni. I can say "Great Big Sea" as they both give a jolt directly to the pleasure centers of the brain but they do it in such different ways. Deni is less direct, there is more a sense of irony, you can compare her to the B-52s and she collaborated with Fred Schneider on a song, Girl Party on her new album It's All Good. But her music feels so different. It's party music but also virtuoso violin playing. Her banter is pure New Yorker even though she's from Virginia. She could be a character in a Woody Allen. I call her music Rock but she tends to call it pop. She goes to NERFA in the folk world. I consider NERFA a personal triumph. I tried to talk her into going to it for years. She finally went last year and this year is hosting a guerilla showcase. Whatever you call it her music is great and her performance is as enjoyable as anyone you'll ever see. How about this combine Mark O'Conner, The B-52s, Great Big Sea, Moxy Fr�vous, and Fanny Brice. Then forget it all since you'll only be confused and just go see her and find out what I mean. I like my writing but sometimes I don't have the words.

She did two sets. Between sets I had a great conversation with Paul. I pretty much always have great conversations with Paul. He's not only extremely bright with an interesting history he has passion. He deeply cares about the things he cares about.

There was a much bigger audience for the second set. Lots of them were there to see Deni. Others were there for the karaoke that followed. That lead to sometimes the audience being deeply involved and singing along and other times for people talking so loud I had trouble hearing the music. I of course did all the audience participation.

Damn, I have to get to class. I'll try and finish this after class and before therapy.

I'm back but of course I had things to do and couldn't get right on writing. I realized I had left important papers in my morning classroom. Now I just remembered that I have to email one of them to the afternoon class.

Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot? If I weren't an idiot I'd know without asking you.

After the show I wanted to have dinner at Boston Market near Hogwarts. I checked google maps and it said a bus was coming soon. I checked the bus schedule and it said one was due in a minute or two. I waited. I waited. I waited some more. Busses come every 20 minutes and I waited 16 and gave up since I hadn't just missed one. I figured something was wrong. I walked a block and a half and � a bus passed me. A few minutes later another bus passed me. I ended up walking the 1.1 miles. Boston Market has issues. No place does it tell you what the side dishes are. You have to simply recognize them. No place does it give you the price of a drink. I'm surprised they stay in business. The food is good but they never seem to know how to run a restaurant.

I went home and hit the computer. I hardly talked to mini-Hagrid all day. I should have watched the Cardinals/Giants game but didn't. I'm rooting for the Jints.

Today I tried something different. I had breakfast at Murray's bagels instead of the food cart near school. It cost almost twice as much money and was not twice as good. I'm going back to either the cart or getting up earlier and cooking.

I'm going to have to declare victory and end this and head down to my shrink now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 22, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!