I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 04, 2016 - 2:57 p.m.

Good Neuro on City Island

Yesterday my plan was to go to the City Island Nautical Museum. Its hours are from 1 4. I left the house after 4 which was problematic. So I decided to explore another City Island Institution, what I had been calling the City Island General Store but discovered was actually called dAN's Parent's House. After being inside it for two minutes I decided it's real name is the OMG This Store Made for Carey and Gordon Emporium. I sent Carey one of the pictures and her reply was, "AAAAAAAH I WANT TO GO TO THERE" so that name is accurate.

Untitled

I went there a few weeks ago and asked if I could take pictures and the kid working there said I'd have to come back when one of the owners was there. So that's what I did. One of the owners is named, as you might have guessed, Dan. I spoke to his wife Reina. As expected from looking at the store she is one of my people.

Untitled

The store is pure good neuro. It's filled with old toys and models and collectibles and fun. Something about Reina and the store made me think of Tina Trachtenburg and the entire Trachtenburg family. I could see them running the store. I told Reuna she reminded me of "my friend Tina Trachtenburg" and she knows who I was talking about. I told you they were my people. I took a zillion pictures. I'm going to show you 22 more. That's a lot. I hope this page loads quickly for you. The thing is I would like to show even more. This store is magical. I wish I had a real camera. Some of them did not come out as well as I'd have liked. At least that made it easier to cut down on how may I post. OK Here's the tour of the store.


Self Portrait
Self Portrait complete with my name

Untitled
This is in the Bronx so extra credit for the Mets sign.

Untitled
The store used to be a nautical junk store. That's where the models come from.

Untitled

Untitled
I suspected that they had bought my old vinyl collection that I sold in Queens. "Alice's Restaurant" was the first album I bought and that's Renaissances "Song for All Season" peeking out on the left.

Untitled
This was the current album the first time I saw Renaissance and remains tied for me favorite with "Novella."

Untitled

Untitled
Did you know I played accordion as a kid? Mine was red too.

Untitled
This is the picture I sent Carey. It shows the feel of the place.

Untitled
Please Don't Touch the Robots

Untitled
Above the Robots

Untitled
D'oh!


Untitled

Untitled
Anyone else remember this dartboard?

Untitled
Donald Trump Hands?

Untitled
Not dolls; action figures!

Untitled
I'm sure all the astronauts carry their lunch in one of these.

Untitled
Can it get more neuro?

Untitled
Those are all "Star Wars" framed photos

Untitled
I love how the mannequin is used as a display case.

Untitled

Untitled
I've gotta brand new pair of roller skates
You've got a brand new key

I bet everyone looking at this kept saying, "I had that!" "I always wanted one of those!" And of course "How come my parents never took me here?" Well the store has only been there for three months. It's still a work in progress. I can't wait to see how it develops. I love not just what's in the store but how it's displayed. There are all those weird juxtapositions. Items are used to set off other items. The place creates its own aesthetic. That is the defining characteristic of good neuro. And what's with all the baby heads? I think Phineas & Ferb must have something to do with it.

I haven’t met Dan but I love Reina and that bodes well. I'm glad that I live in a world where people can have this vision for something that is totally out of the mainstream and make it happen. The world needs more places like Dan's Parents' House. Their website is .

My next stop was going to be the cemetery but as I got close to the house I had to use the bathroom and I couldn't get myself up and out after that. So it's on today's agenda. I'm also taking pictures of the homes. They are quite varied. The world is filled with wonderful people and places. I love exploring whatever neighborhood I live in and discovering the nooks & crannies. You can do the same. You'll discover marvels wherever you are. People get discouraged reading and watching the news. They shouldn't. What makes something news is that it's the exception not the rule. Yesterday I wrote about annoying people but there are more good people and quite a few wonderful people; get to know them.

When I got home I had a treat. Jane and Bernie brought back ice cream from Lickity Split, my favorite flavor, Bittersweet Symphony. There are not just wonderful people and places but there's also ice cream. O what a brave new world it is that has such flavors in it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 04, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!