I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 20, 2017 - 11:58 a.m.

Hunting of the Nark

I had my usual bout of sleepiness this morning and dozed off with my laptop on my lap playing WUMB. Then my phone rang, it plays Pesky J. Nixon, something that might very well be played on WUMB but not while they were playing another song. My sleeping brain finally figured out that something required my attention and I answered the phone. The problem was I couldn't get my computer to stop playing. I was still too sleepy and turned on Windows Media Player and now there were two songs coming from my computer. I finally closed the lid so I could hear who I was talking to. I answered before I looked at the caller ID. It was a wrong number. I was still disoriented from being awakened and somehow felt it was late afternoon. The total gray skies abetted that. My first thought, "Oh no I haven't blogged yet!" My second thought, "I haven't eaten, I better do that." My third thought was that I wasn't dying of hunger. Slowly my brain came online and I realized I had no reason to think it was late afternoon. It was actually 10:40 or maybe 10:20. Whatever it was I had time to write before eating because My Gentle Readers come before my animalistic needs.

I accomplished my prime goal for yesterday, not leaving the house and not getting dressed. I also prepared the Facebook event for the next edition of John Platt's On Your Radar, OYR with The End of America, Gaslight Tinkers, and Rorie Kelly. I knew the first two, The Tinkers played the The Budgiedome last year and I saw EoA first at NERFA then at Spiral Sounds. Rorie was new to me. She reached out to me and we are now Facebook friends. Sharon vouched for her.

The most important part is that I made the event without much anxiety. I like when I get into getting down to business mode creating events. Things that used to cause me problems no longer do. Rorie's mp3 took a long time uploading to the OYR ReverbNation page. I knew that meant it would be too large to post. So why I was waiting for ReverbNation to reject it I opened iTunes and converted it into a smaller file.

I did much of this while preparing dinner and watching the Met game. By preparing dinner I mean waiting for the baked potato to cook. I have not made one in five years. Back then my Crohn's was so bad the skin of the potato would obstruct my small intestine. Now I can make them again! It was delicious. I had it with cheddarbrats.

As for the Mets, they appreciate my watching them and won for the first time in five games. Is that right? They lost four in a row before this. Is that how you interpreted it? Gsellman pitched great and was unlucky. Jay Bruce hit two home runs and drove in all five Mets runs for a very satisfying come-from-behind victory. Baseball is good for the soul.

My fantasy baseball team, your beloved Nashional Batnoses are doing terrible. We are in second-to-last place. Almost the entire team is in a slump. They will turn it around.

I'm piling up items in my Diary Ideas bin. I just don't feel like attacking these issues when it comes down to writing. That's a bit disappointing as I like writing about ideas. I am going to take one off the shelf, it is short, innocuous, and about the topic I know the most about, me.

I'm a cybernark. Does everyone know what a nark is? It isn't a narcotics agent, that's a narc.

nark
närk
informal
noun: nark; plural noun: narks
British: a police informer.

Don't ask me how I picked up this piece of British slang. I didn't even know it was British till I looked it up to post here. It's a word I think but rarely use. I figured it needed an explanation.

I am an inveterate nark in cyberspace. No matter what the platform if I find fake profiles I report them. I do it all the time on Facebook and Instagram. I consider it a public service, save others from being exposed to the spam and possible security breaches. Don't worry I'm not going to report you for what you say or pictures you post; I'm not a censor. I will report abuse. That does not happen very often; I don't travel in those circles.

Facebook has a new feature, you can report fake news items. I can't wait to use it. It might be working as since it's been installed I've seen fewer fake news items. It might be none as I haven't reported any. It might be a few and I just forgot to report them as I'm an idiot. One of the serious topics in my ideas bin is fake news. Maybe this will inspire me to write about it tomorrow.

Pesach is over but that's not going to stop me from making matzoh brei this morning. I bought peanut butter the other day and I'm craving it on matzoh brei.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 20, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!