I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 05, 2013 - 12:09 p.m.

Thick as Thieves

I think I figured out how to make the default style not one where it automatically skips a line when you hit return. Yes when I'm writing in paragraphs I skip a line but it isn't very hard to hit return twice. When the default is to skip a line it is difficult to not skip it. There is no way of undoing just one line. When programs have design flaws they are almost always caused by assuming that all users want to do the same thing and making it difficult to do anything else. I love having options, I hate when I'm forced to do things a certain way.

There was something political I wanted to write about yesterday and now have no memory of what it was. I'll write about the other things then see if I remember it.

While I remember I'll talk about my health. I am getting back to normal. My legs don't hurt all the time. The knees are almost better. I can walk down stairs without going "ouch" every step. I still have a bit of the edema but it's much better. My feet don't hurt all the time. so now the problem is tendonitis in my right elbow and shoulder. I think it's exacerbated by writing on my laptop. So it's all your fault. See how much I love My Gentle Readers.

Last night I had a musical dilemma. I needed to be in three places at once. I'll list then geographically. Anthony da Costa had a gig at the 92y Tribeca, Caravan of Thieves at a new venue, Subculture, in the East Village, and Lauraq Dunn at the Postcrypt Coffeehouse at Columbia University. They are all "Don't Miss" artists for me. To make things harder it was one of the last shows for a while by Anthony and Laura. Laura is moving back to Oregon, which makes me very sad. But I went with Caravan of Thieves. I see them the least often. Anthony and Laura I think of as home games. I know them so well. It is very comfortable. Sometimes you have to get out of your comfort zone. I know even if they won't be playing that often in the near future I'll see them again many times. We travel in the same circles,.

It's been a few years but Caravan of Thieves still have new band smell, I see them a couple of times a year. Most importantly they are very different than anyone else I see. They play Gypsy Swing with a sense of humor. Actually they are very different from anyone else I don't see too, It's tough to compare them to other acts. It is sort of like if Django Reinhardt had Moxy Fr�vous 's stage manner. In a way Deni Bonet is the closest performer I know to them because they combine musical virtuosity and fun. They do weird covers like a mash up of "Staying Alive" and "I Will Survive." There isn't much disco left when they perform them. They go into the depths of time to cover "You Are My Sunshine.' Their signature cover is "Bohemian Rhapsody." How great are they? It isn't clear if theirs or the Muppets is the better version.

They did quite a few new songs last night. That was exciting. they are playing them out in advance of making a new album. I like that approach. This way they find out what works and what doesn't. One song "Wasting my Time" has been totally transformed. It started as "Wasting My Time With You" to "Wasting My Time Without You." The music and arrangement totally changed too. I like when musicians play their music live before they record them. They get to learn the songs and they get the most important feedback, the audience reactions.

I didn't expect to know anyone in the audience but I did. Morrs and his friends sat down next to me. I know Morrs from WfUV pledge drives. I didn't know he was a self described Caravan of Thieves groupie. He knew of them before John Platt. I know them from John Platt's On Your Radar.

After the show I said hi to Fuzz, yes his name is Fuzz, and Carrie. It's easy to remember Fuzz's last name, he doesn't have one. Well I'm pretty sure that he does, and I'm pretty sure that his mother didn't name him Fuzz, but that's what he uses.

I had one of my favorite kinds of conversations with a musician with Fuzz. I found out that the things I love most about the band were deliberate decisions that they made. I am very glad that they decided to not just play great music but to be silly about it. Each show is not just a concert but a performance piece. But that's not to say that it isn't a great musical experience. They are amazing musicians. Fuzz is one of the best guitarists I know, He plays kitchenware better than anyone. Kitchenware? Yes Kitchenware. Their percussion section is pots and pans struck by whisks. Well on one song he plays Carrie's guitar with brushes. He doesn�t hit the strings but the body. It's taken quite a beating.

The audience was a bit of a disappointment. They hardly sang along to 'Bohemian Rhapsody." They didn't hoot and holler. They didn't gather around close for the finale, "Wake the Dead" which is performed in the middle of the room.

The show was at a new venue, SubCulture. in the East Village. Right at the Bleecker Street stop on the . It's something New York really needs, a listening room where performers can do extended sets. It isn't a bar that has music. It's a music venue with a bar. Unlike Rockwood and the Living Room bands can play full two hour sets, longer if need be. You pay and admission and can buy tickets in advance. It can be configured for either sitting or standing. It hold 120 sitting and I think 180 standing. Treat those numbers as approximate. The place opened this week, This was the third show there. To all my musician friends if you are looking for a place to play, this is it.

I said it was new but that's the configuration and management. As soon as I got there I recognized it. I had been there once before, for the Rachel Trachtenburg Morning Show. This is what I had to say about it then, Rachel's on the Right Tracht(enburg) .

Still no memory of the political thing I wanted to write about. It is so hard not having a brain. Maybe I'll remember tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 05, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!