I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 15, 2013 - 10:37 a.m.

Island Vacation

I've been frozen the last few days and this morning. That isn't good. I had a temporary thaw in the afternoon when I met Katherine in the fabled Island of Coney. Do you know what a Coney is? It's a rabbit. I know that because Sam cooked a brace of coneys in "the Lord of the Rings."

I took the to the end of the line. I have not done that since they renovated the station. I have mixed feelings, The new one looks like a classic European train station. The old one was run down but it felt like the entrance to one of the run down rides. Coney Island has pretty much always been in decline. That has reversed recently and it takes some getting used to.

I did something that haven't done in far too long. I rode the rides with a friend. I used to do that regularly. More recently I've gone by myself to make my pilgrimage to the cyclone and the Wonderwheel but I haven't done that in a few years. Yesterday we did a nice sampling. Of course we did he aforementioned classics. But we also went on Spookarama! That has a special place in my heart. It used to be billed as the world's longest horror ride. I went on it with Bad Carey and Lauren. the joke was that the reason It was the longest was that there was a long stretch outside where nothing happened. You just sat in a car on rails that moved slowly. The terror came from the thought that someone might see you on it. I didn't warn Katherine about that and good thing. They changed it, It's now all enclosed and is a pretty good classic horror ride. It made me jump a couple of times.

I chickened out on one ride. They truss two people up on a litter that is then raised way above the ground and suspended by a wire. They then let you go and you swing as a free moving pendulum. Not only does it scare me. Not only am I afraid that it might make me nauseous (pendular motion is the only that that will do that to me) but it was way expensive, $20.

but we went on a prone roller coaster where you went upside down and the Tilt-0-Whirl which is the cheapest ride there and still tons of fun. Katherine what am I forgetting. The only game we played was skee ball And Katherine had her fortune told by Grandma, the classic mechanical person in a box. It was not accurate. I have some doubts about its scientific validity.


Of course I ate like a pig with a root beer float and a visit to Nathan's.

I almost forgot, I am supposed to relate how my life is like riding the Cyclone. So you know how you climb that big hill and you get that feeling in the pit of your stomach when you reach the crest and there is nothing in front of you? Then you move forward and that sensation goes into overload? That's my life pretty much doing ordinary things. And as I'm not strapped in car and things are not inevitable I chicken out and get off the ride. But that ride is life so there are problems with that.

Back from metaphor. I expected to be more scared than usual because I hadn't done it in years. When I used to ride multiple roller coasters a year I got used to it. I learned to never ride the Cyclone twice because the second ride isn't scary. But instead it was like being an experienced rider taking the first ride of the day. That's actually the best place to be. Of course I screamed at the top of my lungs but that's just for fun. I'm pretty sure I'll never get to old to have fun on a rollercoaster. I want to ride the one Phineas and Ferb built. But it has to be the musical.

I took one more ride with Katherine, the subway. We are on different lines but I rode with her up the then took the back here. I needed the company. So now I'm back on that scariest of rides, life. I don't know where I'm sleeping tonight. That's scary.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 15, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!