I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 22, 2015 - 9:56 p.m.

Common Core is Common Sense

I better write a quick and dirty entry then get to sleep. I've been at WfUV most of today and have to be back there tomorrow. So what did I do yesterday, That's what I'd have written about if I had written in the morning. And the answer is not much. I had my Wednesday morning meeting with Carolann. We both don't to consider her my life coach. That's just to trendy. She's my facilitator, helping me deal with my anxiety. We got some thing accomplished. I then went shopping and made a delicious dinner, kielbasa and Hasselback potato. they both had cheese on them. Just call me the big cheese. I then went to sleep early so I could get up early today.

I set my alarm for 6 AM but woke up at 5. I could have left earlier but it looked like the timing would be great if I I made the 5:50 train instead of the 5:30 I could have made. but I stumbled out or the great and missed it by seconds. Ugh. I'll do better tomorrow though I'm going in latter.

I supervised all day today but took one call when one volunteer broke the major rule and left his phone on when he went to eat. I ran over and took the call. Good thing it was a big one, $700. I can't tell you who it was of course. I mean Jim's a friend of mine. How would it look if I pointed out how he screwed up. So I won't. Nope not me. I'm a good friend.

I was going to leave early but since I missed Wednesday I stayed till Lori not LORi go there at 4. then other people didn't show so I stayed till 6:00. I pulled a ten and a half hour shift. I only ate for ten hours. See I’m good.

Any highlights? Not about the work but I got to talk about bluegrass, gypsy swing, and Doctor Who with Laura. She's the volunteer something or other. She's the student that's in charge of us Volunteer Coordinator sounds good.

I did some common core math problems with Lori. They were easy to do with algebra, just systems of equations, but they were supposed to do this without algebra. My only clue to how they were supposed to do it was that there were references to the "bar method packet." So I derived a technique that would solve the problem and fit that description. It's very intuitive and prepares them for the algebraic method. It's exactly the kind of thing that ignorant people will decry but people who know math will think, "oh the easy way to solve it." It pictorially let's you see what's going on and see why the method works. Of course maybe I didn't derive the method they were shooting for. What is wrong is that they don't properly train the teachers to use it. Lower grade math teacher aren't necessarily strong in math and need it explained to them the same way they will explain it to students. It doesn't help that the problems referred to methods in a packet we didn't have. From what I've seen the common core approach to math is right on. It' not about making them "relate" to the problems but getting them to think about them. If I could wave a wand and make one change to make the world a better place it would be to get people to think more and accept less.

OK Time to for me to get ready for bed. Very long day tomorrow. Volunteering at WfUV then going to see Jean Rohe do a now rare band show at a house concert in Jersey City in the evening. I'm not sure if there is still space at the show but email Gidge at [email protected] and find out .If you can go you should It's a short walk from the PATH


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 22, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!