I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 15, 2015 - 11:23 a.m.

Fast Plane to China

Let's see if I can write this with only one working knee. Well duh, I wrote yesterday when the bad knee was much worse. Yes I'm not keeping you in suspense. My knee is much improved. I kept it iced almost the entire day and that did wonders with the swelling. I bought an ice bag instead of just putting it in a plastic bag or zip lock back like I usually do. It was worth it. First the thickness of the bag stops you from getting frostbite. Secondly I didn't get water all over me or my bed. Hopefully I won't need it again but I might. I'm not icing it now. Perhaps I should. I'll see how things go.

Oh you might not know what I'm talking about. If so read how I hurt myself in my last entry.

Initially there was no visible bruising. The doctor saw discoloration but from my angle and with my bad eyes I couldn’t see anything. By the evening that changed, it got purple and blisters appeared. They didn't hurt and I ignored them, just get the ice on. It looks even worse this morning but I was able to get around without the cane with no trouble. OK there was trouble but I could do it. There's now muscle pain too, I take it that's from walking unnaturally.

I was supposed to keep the knee elevated and I as soon as I hurt myself and knew I'd need to I figured out how. I took my sleeping bag and put my knee right on top of it. When I was almost six I broke my leg. It was in a cast for 10 weeks. The leg was bent the entire time. When the cast came off the leg wouldn't straighten. I had to lay in a hot bath till it did. But then my thigh muscles cramped up something fierce. The doctor said to slowly bend the leg again. The way we did it was to put this cylindrical throw pillow under the knee. That's where I got the idea. I told you I'm good at being a patient. I keep everything filed away for future use. I also don't let it get me down. I was worried about the money and the insurance, not my leg.

I was able to make dinner, bratwurst and gnocchi. Trader Joe's now carries Brooklyn made sausages. They are good. I can't resist that sort of thing. They are precooked so all you do is warm and brown them. The instructions are to fill the griddle with half an inch of water and put the brat in it and heat it over a medium flame. You boil off all the water then brown it. I enjoy observing water boiling. There's just so much interesting physics. The water does not get hotter and hotter, it remains at about 100°C from the start of boiling till the water has all evaporated. All the energy goes into turning the liquid into vapor. Till modern ovens with thermostats were invented boiling was the only way to cook at a constant known temperature.

I took acetaminophen when I got home and didn't take more till I went to sleep. Sleeping I knew might be a challenge. I wasn't free to get into many positions I normally sleep in. I didn't use the sleeping bag to elevate the knee. I ended up sleeping pretty well. When my alarm woke me up I went back to sleep. My body decided it needed to heal more and I wasn't going to argue.

I got to feel useful yesterday. A violinist friend asked me to help her to find two violinists to play a gig in China. The catch is that they had to be prepared to leave on October 20, that's not a lot of notice to travel to Asia. It is of course a great opportunity. How often do you get to jet off to China for five days? Two of course would be spent on the plane. I had my immediate plan I emailed those I had addresses for and facebook messaged others. I started with people off the top of my head then looked at my Facebook Musicians friends list. It had to be done immediately as visas needed to be prepared. I found the people in about 20 minutes. I'm proud of myself. I really am as connected as I like to think. I know a ton of very talented musicians. I really should categorize them by instrument. If you ever need a musician to fill in and are stuck ask me. I might be able to help. Hey there really is a good reason to be my friend. That explains why people put up with me.

It's a beautiful day but I am not going to take a walk because of my leg. I do need eggs and would like to pick up something for dinner. I might just walk down the street to the local supermarket. I wonder if the new Stop and Shop at Atlantic Center is open yet. Part of me really does want to go outside. I'll see how I feel.

If I go out do I bring my cane? I don't really need it. I was wondering if it would work as a babe magnet. Something tells me that it doesn't so. The cane stays at home.

OK so here's the weird thing. I was incredibly down before I hurt my leg. I now feel better. It was a distraction from my real problems. It also connected me to people. It got people reading Wise Madness!. My readership shot up yesterday. I have to admit that I worked on that. I was like the local news, I gave a teaser and said "Details at 11." Well OK I said "Details in Wise Madness." My hope is that admitting that I did that absolves me of the guilt. If I manipulate you I tell you that I manipulate you.

I will once again put off writing about things I planned to write yesterday. I hope I don't forget them. Oh this is interesting. Now that the other pain is less I feel a little pain right above my instep. I'm sure I bruised a lot of things when I fell.

Now I'll make breakfast. It feels like a sausageeggandcheese day. I just amused myself. I forgot that I added sausageeggandcheese to the spell check dictionary. You should start spelling it as one word too. You know that's the way it's used.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 15, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!