I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 26, 2017 - 12:04 p.m.

What's on the Telly? Looks Like a Penguin.

I did not make it out of the house yesterday. I realized early on that I wouldn't. I will today, I have a cupcake date. That's a teaser for tomorrow's edition of Wise Madness The depression seems to have passed. It's odd, I had it days when I was out hearing great music with friends and not on the day I stayed home alone. My mind has a mind of its own.

I made Buffalo chicken wings yesterday. I bought fresh wings which meant I had to disarticulate them. That's always tricky so I went online to see if there's a trick. I found site after site that gave a lecture on how a chicken wing has three parts and two joints and you cut it at the joint. Are there people that don't know that? People who are preparing wings? What I was looking for was a simple way to find the spot at the joint where you sever the tendons without going through bone. When you get the right spot it's easy to cut, otherwise it's a pain. I will continue to do it by feel. It works around half the time. I should give the knives a good sharpening.

I'm not feeling inspired. The thoughts that have been racing through my head are ones that I have frequently written about. How many times can I write of people's preference for cognitive shortcuts over thinking?

My therapist said that she noticed that I get happy when I tell stories from my past. I do, part of it is I'm happy that I have these detailed memories of things that happened 50 years ago. I wish I did as well remembering things that happened yesterday. It's also that we tend to remember the high points and low points and my stories are more often about the highs. It's the essence of nostalgia. The Met announcers, Keith Hernandez and Gary Cohen were doing it last night, talking about the Addams Family. Just reading the words, Addams Family made some of My Gentle Readers happier. That's what I'm going to do today, make people happy by simply listing TV shows that were important to me as a kid. I watched other shows, sometimes every week for years, I Dream of Jeannie for example, but it was never one of "my shows."

Warner Brothers and Fleisher Brothers cartoons. These were not TV shows but were shown on TV shows. They were ubiquitous. As the Fleisher Brother cartoons, Popeye an Betty Boop were primarily in black and white they stopped being shown when color tv became the norm. Too bad as they were so weird. I'll divide the shows into classes.

Hosted Children's Shows:

  • Wonderama with Sonny Fox
  • Sandy Becker
  • Just for Fun with Chuck McCann
  • Soupy Sales
  • Shari Lewis

TV shows from before was born that every kid watched
  • Superman
  • Abbott & Costello

Shorts and movie series made for theaters but shown every week in a regular timeslot.
  • Bowery Boys
  • Abbott & Costello movies
  • Laurel & Hardy features and shorts
  • The Little Rascals
  • Shirley Temple Movies

Adult dramas that I loved
  • Twilight Zone
  • Star Trek
  • Alfred Hitchcock Presents
  • The Wild Wild West
  • Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea
  • The Invaders
  • The Fugitive
  • The Man from Uncle
  • Batman? Not sure where it belongs

Sitcoms
  • Get Smart
  • The Dick van Dyke Show

Variety Shows
  • The Smothers Brothers
  • Laugh-in

Prime time children's programs
  • Walt Disney's Wonderful World of Color
  • The Flintstones
  • The Jetsons
  • Rocky and Bullwinkle

British TV
  • The Avengers
  • Secret Agent Man
  • The Prisoner

Horror and Science Fiction movie showcases
  • Creature Features
  • Chiller Theater
  • Claude Kirshner and Clownie
  • Zacherly the Cool Ghoul (he was the host)

I watched a lot of TV yet I was outside playing with friends every day and was a voracious reader. There were more hours in the day then.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 26, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!