I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 30, 2016 - 9:51 a.m.

Chelsea Evening

I have to leave here in in an hour and twenty minutes and haven't showered or eaten so I better make this quick. Notice that I didn't do those things first, writing Wise Madness is my top priority.

I got a notification that I had mail in my box back on Monday so I wanted to be sure to pick it up yesterday after getting there too late on Wednesday. I made it, barely. Oh this just in. Brianne asked if we can make it an hour later. Score the goal! OK now I can make breakfast. Now back to yesterday. I needed coffee and eggs so I went to Trader Joe's. When I have the choice I go to the one in Chelsea though the upper west side is closer; the store is less crowded and easier to navigate. As I was walking the half a block to the subway it struck me that Honor lives close to it. We had been talking via Facebook messenger so I asked her if she wanted to grab coffee. She said yes. I didn't want to carry around the groceries with me so I went straight to her house and we got coffee nearby. Then we walked around and grabbed walking food at two different places, one of us got a samosa and the other got hot dogs and fries. Guess who got what. That is not a hard question if you know me at all. Several people are laughing. Here's a hint, I call myself a meatan.

We sat in a playground while I ate mine. The fires made it less ideal walking food. But then it started drizzling so we sought shelter under a tree so I ate standing anyway. It was delicious. I have such sophisticated tastes The conversation was delicious too, that really was sophisticated. It stopped raining so we went back to the bench. A little kid fell off his scooter and Honor raced over to help him. I was impressed. She did a good job comforting him till his father made it over. I was also impressed that his father was not hovering over the kid. Sitting there talking to Honor, watching the kids on a pleasant summer night, was better than Zoloft. Even though we talked of some unpleasant things, the discussion was serene. There are bad things in the world but life can still be good.

We walked and talked some more then I walked Honor home. I told her that I'd protect her from attack. If someone gave us trouble I'd say, "Watch it buddy or you'll have my blood all over your clothes and you'll never get the stains out." I don't play games.

Then I went to Trader Joe's, bought some things I'm low on and peanut butter filled pretzels, as a little mood elevator, and spent the next hour and a half coming home. Actually I had good timing and made it in less. I must be a good person and this was my well-earned reward. No, that can't be write because most days my timing sucks. Maybe the public transit gods were showing me that things could be better if I gave them what they want. Back when I had a car I'd make human sacrifices to the parking gods and found parking in the most difficult situations. Why shouldn't there be public transit gods. As I have explained before the ancient gods kept up with the times and found new businesses to get into. Just as we don't need nearly as many agricultural workers as we use to we don't need as many agricultural deities. I need to find an obsidian knife, which I'll now call dragon glass, and then go back to human sacrifices. The parking gods were not greedy; a sacrifice might last six months. I hope the public transit gods are the same way.

Now to eat and shower and shave and ride the aforementioned public transit and meet the aforementioned Brianne. Abby and another friend of Brianne will be there too. I told Honor I'll be hanging out with three women in their early twenties and she said; "You'll like that." I'm not quite sure what she's getting at. This is a Falcon Ridge preview as Brianne and Abby camp with us.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 30, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!