I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 21, 2018 - 4:01 p.m.

Move Over Philly

I hate when I get a late start writing. I's a beautiful day and I want to go out, but I can't till I finish this. My Gentle Readers come first.

There's something important that I've forgotten to write about for a week. This was so important that I took time out in much needed therapy session after a bad week, to tell it. I told my therapist, I know it's not relevant to my issues but it's important, I had to say it.

Chez Horvendile has come up with an exciting new dish, City Island Cheesesteak. This is enough of an improvement over the Philly style as to warrant a new name and a patent. The patent is pending. I will withhold the key ingredient to the end. For those of you that don't know I'll give the recipe I use for Philly Cheesesteak. It's super simple once you find a place that sells shaved beef or have the tools to shave it yourself. I buy mine at Stop & Shop. It is perpetually on sale. For $5/lbs. I use ⅓lbs per sandwich and make them on mini-sub rolls that I also get at Stop & Shop. They have a great bakery. You'll need two metal spatulae and skillet.

Heat the skillet and put in some olive oil. How much? Enough, it doesn't cover the skillet, it's a puddle. You can use any grease, but everything is better with olive oil especially for City Island Cheesesteak. When the oil is hot dump on the beef. Keep mixing and cutting the beef into smaller pieces. It will quickly turn grey. If you see red flip that part over. You want it an unappealing grey. I eat my steak very rare, trust me, this is how to do it. When everything is great gather it into a long pile the size of your sub roll. Top it with cheese. Cheez-Whiz is standard, but I find myself most often using a slice of pepper jack. Just lay the cheese on the pile and top it with the roll. Give it a minute for the cheese to melt. Next comes the tricky part. The sandwich is upside down. Use one or both spatulae to pick it up and turn it over. That's it, you are ready to eat. You can put salt, pepper, steak seasoning, MSG, whatever you want while cooking or after it's on the plate. I often top it with steak or barbecue sauce.

Now for the upgrade to City Island Cheesesteak. The key is garlic. Not garlic powder, cloves of garlic. Before you start cooking dice some cloves. I can't tell you how many as it depends on the size of the bulb. I used three cloves from a small bulb. Now comes the magic. You have that skillet with hot olive oil and diced garlic. They call to each other like long separated lovers. Fulfill their dreams and make them one. Sautee the garlic in the oil. When it's brown add on the beef and proceed as before. Make sure the garlic gets mixed in well with the beef. It takes the sandwich to a new level of glory. Every bite has crunchy, tasty, garlic in it. I've made it with garlic powder and there is no comparison.

You can thank me after you've tried it. You can also apply for a franchise. The chain is Horvendile's Original City Island Cheesesteak. I know people are going to try and steal my idea. If the patent doesn't go through, I'll still own the trademark.

I was not a happy camper when I made that. I was riddled with anxiety. There were touches of depression. Inventing and eating the sandwich helped as much as the meds and mediation. Don't bother telling me somebody else already invented it. If they didn't patent it or trademark the name it's mine for the taking.

Last night I talked to a friend for the first time in a year. We talked for an hour and a half, just like we used to. We each felt the other didn't want to talk so we stopped trying. I'm glad I made the call. What prompted it was wanting to talk about something that nobody else would appreciate. I get that feeling with a few people that are out of my life. One I repeatedly tried to talk to but was repeatedly rebuffed. I should accept that no matter how much she'd enjoy the subject matter she won't enjoy it with me. That's a bitter pill to take. Good thing the billions I'm making off the cheesesteak franchises will pay for a lot of therapy and chocolate.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 21, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!