I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 23, 2015 - 1:24 p.m.

Jamboree in a Cryptic Town

Have I even mentioned to you that I'm an idiot? I don't think so but maybe I did and forgot. I do that, I'm an idiot. So this morning I slept a bit later than usual as I got very little sleep, it was around 9:00. I was ready to listen to the first Sunday edition of A Thousand Welcomes on WFUV while missing John Platt's Sunday Breakfast which has been my Sunday wake up for 14 or 15 years but has been moved to the 5 PM when I'm usually not around to listen. I turn on the radio, well OK I turned on my computer to wfuv.org. And nothing comes out. I don't know what they did but the wfuv media player no longer works. I went to the website and clicked the one way it still has to listen. This is not as convenient. I have the media player bookmarked so it's one click. No that's not what happened. I went to see if I could listen on my phone and I could. It was only after that worked that I investigated what was going on the website. When I start listening I hear Maura Kennedy. Now that might sound like the name of someone you'd hear on a Irish Music program, but Maura isn't even Irish, she just married Pete Kennedy who is. She would not be played on A Thousand Welcomes but would be on Sunday Breakfast. It was Sunday Breakfast; The changeover is next weekend. Yesterday I was lamenting having nothing to listen to. I should have been listening to Kathleen Biggins, the A Thousand Welcomes host. I'm an idiot. Have I told you that? I wish I had a working memory.

Yesterday I trekked up to this town.


Please tell me you get it. If you are near my age and don't you did not live in the same world as me as a kid You got it now, right?

OK so I went up to Westchester, no not telling you the name of the town, to go to the Common Ground Front Porch Jamboree and Preview Party. Even though it's an hour and a half away Common Ground Community Concerts is a coffeehouse series that I frequent and volunteer at when I go. Carter who runs it is a kindred spirit. We like many of the people that are not the usual suspects in our circle. I'm going up there five times this season. This was not a concert but as it says a party. Musicians were encouraged to bring their instruments. I had no idea who would be going. Carter is the only one that I knew who I was sure would be there.

I took the to Grand Central and then the MetroNorth. The trip is on the Hudson Line. Always sit on the west side of the train when taking the Hudson line, you get spectacular views. This time I tried something new. I help my camera against the window and took panaram shots. This is what they look like.

I walked from the train station to the town's (no I am not going to tell you the name) historical society. Slartibarfast had fun designing that area, it's a fjord. That means there's a steep climb from the riverside where the train station is, up to the rest of the town. I wish I had used Map My Walk so I could how high I climbed. It's still just a short walk, about 10 minutes. I could have done it faster if I knew exactly where I was going. I saw a beautiful old yellow Victorian mansion and guessed that was it. I was right.

I heard music and heard people talking so I knew I was at the right place The party was on the veranda. Do other people call it a veranda? I don’t think I hear the word used much

I knew two people there other than Carter, Winston and Maria both of whom volunteer at the Common Ground. I didn't know any of the musicians. I did get friendly with one of them, Tara Linhardt who lives in my musical world. And actually I discovered I did know one of the musicians when Winston took out his saxophone. I know him as the sound man at Common Ground and a math guy.

No I didn't forget the most important thing, the food. I had grilled chicken but that's not what matters of course. What matters is there was ice cream cake and home made apple crumble! The apples were picked from the baker's tree. This was a true single source dessert. It was great.

At 6:53 I heard a train whistle, and knew that meant I missed that train. I told you it wasn't that far from the station and it's even closer to the tracks. So I checked my phone app and planned on taking the 7:21. I then promptly forgot about it till 7:09 when in midsentence I realized I had to leave. I made a very hasty departure. I actually made it with time to spare because walking back took me less than 10 minutes as I knew where I was going and it was downhill.

I got on the train, heard the conductor coming and realized that I hadn't bought a return ticket. I didn't buy a round trip when I started just in case somebody else was there that could give me a ride back to the City. As I just said I had enough time to buy a ticket before I got on the train and just forgot. Paying on board made the train cost almost twice as much. I keep forgetting, have I mentioned that I'm an idiot?

I treat The Lord of the Rings the way others treat the bible; I read it over and over again and find that it gives commentary on what's happening now in the world and in my head. So here's a passages that's been coming to me lately it's from the last chapter, The Grey Havens. This is on the first anniversary of Frodo being stung by Shelob.

Farmer Cotton found Frodo lying in his bed clutching a white gem that hung around a chain about his neck and he seemed half in dream.

"It is gone forever" he said, "and now all is dark and empty."

Ugh, my copy of LOTR is falling apart Now I have to get a new one. Something else that is gone forever is my ten or so editions of LOTR some of which were rare. But that's not what I was thinking about when that passage came to me.

So much for what I was planning on writing about. Well it's on my diary idea list. I have no idea what I'm going to do today. Maybe I'll go to the Brooklyn Country Music Festival. Mamie Minch and Ramblin' Jack Elliot close it out. I'm more interested in Mamie. I'm usually not that big on the institutions. I saw Ramblin' Jack the very first concert I went to on my own, he was part of Dylan's Rolling Thunder Revue. I pretty much saw everyone I had to see in one show, Dylan, Joan Baez, Joni Mitchell, Roger McGuinn, Emmylou Harris, and god knows who else. There's a Rolling Stone article on it, Bob Dylan's Rolling Thunder Revue Comes to the Buffalo Bills

Once again I wasted too much time and it's now too late to start on pancakes. I'll try for that tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 23, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!