I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 10, 2008 - 11:14 p.m.

Show me the CDS

I don�t really have time to write an entry but I won�t be able to update again till Saturday so I�ll write a little something.

Last night I went to the Met game and they actually won! Alan didn�t go so I did something I never do with him; I moved down to better seats. You really do get a much better view from the loge than the upper deck.

I now have a nemesis in one of my classes and I let him know it. On Tuesday he sat there playing with his phone when I was teaching something. I don�t know if he was texting or playing a game but he certainly wasn�t paying attention and I called him on it. Today he was reading a newspaper. I told him to put it down and said that if he wasn�t going to pay attention to leave. I then added that if he did it again I�d kick him out. He is going to fail. He does no work and pays no attention. Why does he bother to come to class?

I got something nice in the mail yesterday, Iain Campbell Smith�s new CD, Texas. I actually got four copies of it. One for me and three to give to presenters. I�m trying to line up some gigs for him when he comes back to the US in the fall.

I�ll be getting another CD in the mail soon. Out of the blue Deni Bonet asked for my address so she could send me her new CD.

Speaking of CDS here are the ones I picked up volunteering at WFUV.

  • Van Morrison - Keep it Simple
  • Frank Zappa - Zappa Plays Zappa
  • Memphis Slim and Buddy Guy - Southside Reunion
  • Clifton Chenier � Frenchin� the Boogie
  • Niall Valleley, Paul Meechan, and Caoimhin Vallely � Buille
  • Ana Egge - Lazy Days
  • Suzanne Vega - Beauty and Crime
  • The Bobs � Get Your Monkey of my Dog
  • Celtic Thunder - Celtic Thunder
  • Herb Alpert and the Tiajuana Brass - Christmas Album
  • Luka Bloom � Tribe
  • The Little Willies - The Little Willies
  • The Waifs - Sundirtwater
  • Steve Earl - Washington Square Serenade
  • Shelby Lynn - Just a Little Town
  • Joni Mitchell - Shine

The Mets just won their game in the twelfth inning. That�s my signal to go to bed.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 10, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!