I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 22, 2015 - 12:40 p.m.

Caroling Carolers and Off-Key Me

Yesterday was December 21, the day the Winter Solstice most often falls on. This year it’s today, the 22nd, but if you think it’s 21st most years you’ll be right. More importantly it’s when I got caroling, at least most years. I don’t remember it always being on that date but it certainly has been the last few years. I don’t set the date, Terre Roche does. I just go along for the ride and try to take as many people as I can with me. We do it under the arch at Washington Square Park. No matter what else is going on that’s what I do.

It was still Monday so I had therapy. The new earlier time proved inconvenient. I finish at 3:15, caroling is at 6:00, half-priced bagels go on sale at 4:00. After therapy I went to the holiday market and had apple cider donuts. Then I got my bagels. I had a notification that I had mail in my PO Box so I went up to Columbus Circle to pick it up. I made the trip opened my box. It’s the week before Christmas. It’s right after Chanukah. It’s the heart of Festivus. I felt as expectant as Charlie Brown on Valentine’s Day. I opened my box and found … a card … from Acme supermarket. It was not even a holiday card, just an ad on a postcard. Rats.

I headed back downtown to Washington Square Park and got there way too early, 5:15. I tried sitting on the bench but it's stone and even though it was warm, around 50°F, it froze my butt. So I stood under the arch but first I took this picture which people on Facebook seemed to like.

Dan was the first one to show up, then a few other people then Terre and the Accidentals. Fred arrived shortly thereafter. It was a disappointing year for friends to show up. Some that were there the last year didn't and nobody new came that I invited Laura showed up after we started and I was pleased to see Diana Jones who was there independently of me but ended up right close. Next year you should come. It's so much fun. They have great arrangements of the songs. You get to sing with great singers. No I'm not a great singer but there was Terre, the Accidentals, Diana, and Dan. That's a lot of professional singers. Dan's Jewish, how does he know so many of the lyrics? I'm Jewish, I do it every year, and know Jingle Bells, well the first half of it. I actually do pretty well the Hallelujah Chorus. it's a special night. It only takes an hour of your time. Join me next year.

I had lots of possible plans for after caroling, there was a lot going on. I had to miss Anthony da Costa and Jean Rohe because they started just about when we were finishing. But at 8 PM Rachel Trachtenburg was playing in Bushwick and The Sea The Sea was doing a Concert Window. Tara O'Grady had her usual gig at the Nylo Hotel from 7:30 to 10:30; I have been trying to get Dan to go to that for a while. I finally decided to go home and watch The Sea The Sea on my computer unless Dan wanted to see Tara. Dan wanted to see Tara so that’s' what we opted for. Good thing. We got bad news, this was Tara's last show there! Now I don't have default Monday plans. Even though I saw her on Saturday Tara did plenty of songs that I hadn't heard before. We didn't stay till the end. Dan had to leave then I had to as I hadn't eaten.

I have a new addiction. A new bodega near me sells these great chocolate frosted honey cakes two for a dollar. I can't resist buying one when I pass it on my way home late nights. I have no sweets in the house so that's my dessert place. Last night I was bad and ate both!

I wish I could get my sleep schedule where I want it. I was once again up half the night. Once again mosquitos have part of the blame. Yes, it’s officially winter and I’m getting bitten by mosquitos. The new thing is having a strong allergic reaction to the bites. I don’t just get a swelling at the bite but hives all over.

Today I have to get something printed, signed, then scanned. I don't have a printer or a scanner. The plan is to go over to Dan's tonight but that's not the easiest place to get to so I'm going to see if I can find a friend home today who can do it. Yes, that's a hint. Now for a late breakfast. Matzoh brei? No an omelet! I have pepper jack cheese that needs to be eaten.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 22, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!