I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 15, 2013 - 11:35 a.m.

Look up in the sky. It's a Byrd!

Before I do anything I have to rant. Google is dropping Reader! What do I do on the internet? The top two are Facebook and Reader. That's where I get all the blogs I link to on my Facebook. My routine is to my iGoogle, which they are also dropping to check my comics, blogs, and this date in history. The blogs I recheck all the time. What have they replaced this with? Google+ which is about as useful as a meat thermometer in a vegetarian restaurant. I never use Google+ all it does is destroy better Google services. It hasn't ruined picasa but it has made it far harder to use and far buggier. I can no longer find all my photos of a person. I can no longer go to an album and tag all the pictures, I have to do it one picture at a time.

I tried Feedly but it makes you download an add-on to your browser and alters what the browser looks like. I don't want a new button on my browser, I just want to go to a webpage and find links to my blogs. Google Reader was great and simple. People add things to apps because they can, not because they are useful.

Yesterday after school I got a little of the social median stuff I needed to do on the laptop I brought with me then I had to race to Grand Central Station to make a train up to Hastings-on-Hudson. I went to River Spirit Concerts to see Jonathan Byrd, I said raced but that trip is so easy from school I just timed it nicely. They only problem is I didn't have time to get something to eat. All I had for lunch was a hot sausage from the a cart. I tried to get a salt bagel at Zabar's. They guy said, "We are out but we have salt twists, it's the same thing except for the shape? I asked how much it cost. It was tow and a half times the price, that is not the same thing. I didn't take it.

When I got to Hastings Peter, picked me up. The concert was at his house. He had to pick somebody else up too, another Peter. We didn't see him. As we were driving back to the house he got a call from Peter, He was a the A&P we were driving past at that moment.

We were the first ones there so I got my choice of seats. I took the comfy couch. That's usually my first choice. A little while later Jonathan arrived. I was surprised he remembered me, he didn't know from where but he knew he knew me. I told him that I'm a friend of Anthony da Costa, that put me in context.

I ended up sharing the couch with his mother-in-law and aunt. Jonathan is a 7th generation North Carolinian. As soon as she opened her mouth I knew his mother-in-law was a nice Jewish woman from the Bronx. One of my Peeps. We had a lot to talk about including Babka. Her daughter, Jonathan's wife was born in Westchester.

Half the fun of a house concert is the socializing. Peter the guest rode the train home with me and was fascinating. He was a French Horn player who switched over to working for the New York Public Library's music division. We had a great discussion on the evolution of brass instruments. I learned so much.

I of course had friends in the audience, Barb, and Rick and Mary Beth. I haven't seen any of them in ages and it was great catching up.

What can I say about Jonathan Byrd's music. He is so sincere that when he sings about a tree you really feel the tree. Oh wait, that's Conrad Birdie. I'll try again.

I first saw Jonathan ages ago at a Susquehanna Music and Arts Festival. I liked him but wasn't blown away. Then I saw him again and felt the same way. But then I saw him one more time and he was amazing. I'm convinced he went to the crossroads. An alternate explanation, I think from Abbie Gardner, is that he works as hard as hell and writes every day.Whatever it is he is now a can't miss performer. I named him my musical MVP of 2011 for his album Cackalack and the songs he wrote on Amy Speace's and Red Molly's albums that year. He co-wrote the best songs on both of them. The one he wrote with Amy was on both albums. The other he wrote with Abbie. He also wrote a song covered by the Dukhs that year. Yes it was the best track.

He didn't perform any of those songs last night which would have been disappointing if the songs he sang weren't so good. He tells great stories. Do any of my Canadian Friends have a collection of Canadian Tire Money? He told us all about it. He told stories about Anthony. He told about his train-obsessed 3-year-old son. He sang City of New Orleans

The timing was decent with the train. Peter drove Peter and I back to the train. After getting to Grand Central I took two more trains to get home but I made it before midnight. It was no more than a hour and a half.

Now I have to get ready for school then off to see ilyAIMY tonight. I hate that I have to miss Rebecca Pronsky to see them. I figured she plays here more often than they do.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 15, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!