I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 11, 2016 - 5:51 p.m.

Broadway Revival

Once again, I didn't leave the house yesterday. I'm started to get concerned. I even had something to do yesterday. It was Rachel Trachtenburg's birthday and her band Wooing had a show. When it came time to leave I couldn't face the two-hour trip to get there and the possibility I would miss the last bus back to City Island. I understand that those are valid reasons to not go but I care very much for Rachel, I love the band, I very much wanted to get out of the house. It does not feel like depression, the meds are holding up, but I can't say the same for lethargy. I forgot to discuss this with my psychiatrist. I will next appointment in January and I'll talk to my therapist about it next week. At the very least I should keep on top of my mental health.

Speaking of mental health I made my first "no chewing" hot chocolate of the year. That is the very best brand. I melt a chocolate truffle in it. It is a cup of orgasm. I need to get mini-marshmallows. I hope that everyone understands what that has to do with mental health.

I have a new unpaid job with a title; I am co-producer of The Falcon Pack Podcast. That's arts podcast of Brianne and her friends Craig and Alan. They interview artist an all media and discuss making art and living a life around making art. The conversation can range from pizza to suicide. If you follow the link above you'll find interviews with Wise Madness regulars, Carolann Solebello and Allison Scola. There are others that have been recorded but not released yet. My duties are talent scout and promotion. The way I described it to a friend I wrote about doing it is, "I'm the guy that always knows a guy." I of course have tons of musician friends, but I also know people in theater, writers, poets, painters, new media, and other kinds of visual artists. If you are interested in being on the show I suggest you first listen to an episode or two and then write the producers that aren't me at [email protected] with a pitch and a link to your website. If you have any interest in the arts, you should subscribe to the podcast. If you don't I'm surprised you're reading this.

That was a fulfilling part of my day. I like being helpful to my friends. I successfully recruited one person to be interviewed. He'll be great. edited photos and blogged, that was good too. What was bad was getting upset over things people said on Facebook. What's bad is not what they said, but that I let it upset me. One of the discussions was on politics and one on Bridge. I think. I am right and they are wrong but so what? Nothing is going to change by me being upset. What do I care if I change their mind? When I get upset enough I do let it go. Passing a forcing bid is a partnership ending crime, but if it isn't my partner it doesn't hurt me. On the surface the politics seems more important but it isn't. Because one the points I'm making is that they aren't going to change a thing. I'll just go this far, Trump is going to be president. You think I'm wrong, fine? He'll still be president. I don't like that he'll be president but reality isn't concerned with catering to my desires. If you think I'm wrong, fine. Don't argue with me. You can say, "he won't be president no matter what he thinks."

This attitude means I'm not going to write the blog I planned on writing today. So instead I'll revisit Broadway musicals. Yesterday I listed The five musicals that affected me the most. Today I'm going to list my favorite Cast Albums I grew up listening to. My parents loved theater. Before I was born, they use to go to every Broadway show. They might have gone to every opening. When I was a kid they were still going often. If they liked it, they'd buy the cast album and play it. If I liked it, I'd play it when they weren't home. In fall 1966, when I was 9 so in fifth grade, my teacher gave the class a survey. One question was, "what's your favorite kind of music?" this was the golden age of the Beatles. Did I say rock and roll? No I said, "showtunes." There's probably a little notation in my "permanent record" saying "gay." OK this was 1966, it would have said, "homosexual." No wonder I loved All in the Family, satire and hyperbole are exactly the way to tread prejudice. Now back on topic; Here is a by no means complete list of Broadway scores that I grew up loving. I have seen either revivals, regional productions, or film versions of these.

  • Fiddler on the Roof
  • Man of La Mancha
  • Camelot
  • My Fair Lady
  • Oliver
  • West Side Story
  • Showboat
  • The King and I
  • The Sound of Music
  • Kismet
  • Porgy and Bess
  • Guys and Dolls

There's plenty more than I loved or learned to love, South Pacific and Oklahoma which I saw in revivals in my early adolescence. CabaretSlipped into the period between my childhood and when I started seeing shows on my own. I saw the movie and eventually a revival on Broadway. I guess Hair fits in there too but it's a rock album and not quite the same thing. I have caught myself singing songs from these shows.

Now I have to leave the house. I'm out of eggs. I'm once again wimping out and not hearing music I want to hear in Brooklyn by Robin Aigner and Tyranny of Dave. It's just very hard to do a two-hour trip and risk missing the last bus to City Island. Instead, I'll go to Trader Joe's and the Holiday Market and come home. Maybe I'll have dinner out. tomorrow I won't write in the morning as I'm protest marching with Brianne. That means I'll have something to write about when I get home.

I should talk about today's breakfast. I made an omelet! I haven't done that in a while. It had not just Taylor ham but prosciutto to go with the pepper jack cheese. I made it perfect and was oh so tasty.

No what's annoying? I'm going to have to miss the rest of John Platt's Sunday Supper. I can't even catch up on the archives as I'd have to listen again from the beginning. OK. I better get dressed and get moving.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 11, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!