I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 24, 2017 - 12:01 p.m.

Arch Angels

I don't have an idiot story for yesterday; I hope that doesn't disappoint you. I'm sure I was an idiot and forgot about it. That can be the idiot story. I hate to disappoint My Gentle Readers.

Once again, I ventured into the DUMBO for the Brooklyn Americana Music Fest. This time I didn't remember I had a Met game and actually heard music. My target was Bobtown. When I got there the Ukuladies were playing. I looked around for Bobtown and didn't see them but I found Kirk watching the festival. He was there as a civilian. I knew I knew someone in the band but didn't know who and my vision was not good enough to make out who it was. I found out later it was Philippa who is also in M Shanghai. Later I saw David in the audience. This was a Hudson West Fest reunion, Bobtown and M Shanghai played the festival; Kirk, David, and I volunteered.

BAMF is a great free festival held at various venues in Brooklyn organized by the Jan Bell. I was once again at the most neuro venue, the archway under the Manhattan Bridge. It's a beautiful bizarre space whose only downside is the subway trains rumbling overhead. It's worth it.

This was my second time seeing Bobtown in two weeks after going through my longest draught before that. I was able to give them more attention yesterday than at Hudson West. I still get a thrill from them. All it takes is the intro from a song for me to get happy. One of the gratifying things about doing merch is hearing praise for the band; I know it's not for me but people act like I am. At a festival, it's even better as so many I the audience never saw them before. An extra added bonus was that two people that bought were wearing; one was David's wife but the other was a stranger and we bonded.

I stayed around for the next act, the Abby Hollander Band. They were a discovery. As it's a small world I knew the guitar player, Jason Borisoff, of Cricket Tell the Weather. I was impressed enough to send a link to their website to John Platt. If they end up at John Platt's On Your Radar, you'll know who gets the credit.

I hung out with Bobtown and Kirk till Abby finished her set then headed home. I was tempted to stay longer but I wanted to cook dinner at home and create the John Platt's On Your Radar event. Of course, I did neither of these things. I didn't even watch as much Gotham as I wanted to. I am very good at wasting time.

Tonight, I'm off to see Red Molly, they've been on hiatus for a couple of years and this will be my first reunion show. Kirk is my date. I wonder if he puts out. I have to get to the show early to mingle with the Redheads. I don't know what I'm doing for dinner. It's too expensive to eat at City Winery but I have to leave too early to eat at home and I'll get home too late. Every notice how much I think about food?

I've had some lingering depression of late, that's what the not getting things done yesterday was about. I have enough techniques that I can overcome it. It's not debilitating like it was before switching therapists and starting on meds. I just wish I didn't have to overcome it. To bring things all together I will now eat breakfast. That always lifts my spirits.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 24, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!