I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 07, 2012 - 10:42 a.m.

Taking Care of Business

I better start writing this if I want to finish before it's too hot to stay in my living room. It's already 89�. I could write it on my laptop in my bedroom which has AC but it is so much easier to write on my desktop. I'll use my new way to keep cool. I'll be right back. I turned the cold water on in the shower and stuck my head under it. I'm pretty much soaked from the waist up. The ponytail works great a water reservoir keeping me cool longer.

After I wrote yesterday's edition of Wise Madness I made up The Budgiedome schedule and sent it out to the performers to see if it works for them. So far so good. This is going to be a great year at the dome. Not only do we have a great lineup but people are camping with us. I love having the community. It's how we started off but in other years it has been just me and Paul.

I don�t think I can write about the thing I'm most excited about now. Maybe I can but till I'm sure I won't. I'll just talk around it. I'm working on a project, a big one. If I can pull it off I'll be as proud of that as anything I've ever done. That's just what I need as I wasn't functioning a couple of months ago. Yesterday I had a meeting to set the wheels in motion. I confirmed what I was afraid of that we'd need financing. I have to work on that this week. What I discovered is that I found the challenges fun, they got my adrenaline going, not my anxieties. I really do love organizing things, as long as they aren't my personal affairs. It helps that I was working with fun people.

After the meeting I went up to school to pick up a book I had delivered there, 50 Popular Beliefs That People Think Are True by Guy P. Harrison. Some of the chapters are:

  • "A Psychic Read My Mind"
  • "Ancient Astronauts Were Here"
  • "All Scientists are Geninuses and Science is Always Right"
  • "Alternative Medicine is Better"
  • "My Religion is the one that's true"
  • The Universe and Earth are Fine-Tuned for Life"
  • "Ghosts Are Real and They Live in Haunted Houses"
  • "The End is Near!"

I'm still in the first chapter but there's a quote I love: "We all believe in silly things. What matters is how silly and how many." Doesn't that sound like something I'd say?

Once I was in my air-conditioned office I found it hard to leave. Nobody else was there so I just settled in and played on the computer most of the day. Then I walked across the street to Bed Bath & Beyond and finally picked up some of the things I needed. I had dinner at Steak and Shake. That's right next to the Ed Sullivan Theater. It's like Shake Shack but half the price. The shakes are twice the size.

When I got home I went into my bedroom turned on the AC and took a nap. When I woke up I couldn't stay alert and went to bed early. I couldn't even up the energy to read my email. I did that this morning.

It's going to hit 100� today I want to find something to do, not just sit in my bedroom all day � again. That probably means the movies. Maybe the Museum of Natural History. Maybe one of you will read this and ask me to do something. Feel free to. I'd love that.

The heat is getting to me. I think I'll keep today's entry short. I'm going to make an omelet for breakfast but that means I have to go out first as I left the milk out. In this heat it doesn't last long. As long as I'm out I'll get a fresh bagel to go with it. Then I'll crawl back into my room till I figure out what to do today.

Has anybody seen that guy who had trouble getting anything accomplished? It's nice not being paralyzed.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 07, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!