I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 21, 2012 - 11:39 a.m.

I Have Absolutely Nothing Nice to Say About Brian

Is the centerpiece of today's edition of Wise Madness an idiot story? I'm not sure. How long will it take to tell what happened? We'll find out and if I finish in one paragraph I'll write about something else I've been meaning to discuss.

I had multiple musical plans for last night that I didn't realize conflicted as I never actually put them in my calendar. While I was bouncing around and living in the cupboard under the steps it was difficult to deal with such things. The two it came down to was Roosevelt Dime at Urban H2O in Yonkers and the Mountain Stage Songwriters Contest at Lincoln Center. There was only one act I knew at the Mountain Stage, Barnaby Bright, but I love them. As that show was free and I could walk there it won. I'd have to take the subway, two trains, to the Metro North, another train, to get to the Roosevelt Dime show. Sometimes money and convenience are the deciding factors. It's always hard to beat a show I can walk to.

So that was the plan for the evening. But I had a plan for the afternoon, going to my storage and getting things I really need including my desktop. The storage is in Queens, not the most convenient place for most of my friends, and I need a friend with a car, to give me a ride. The people that help me the most often couldn't make it. One friend said he could take me on Tuesday but he didn't get what I really needed help with. He would pick me up at the LIRR in Queens and drive me to the storage but he won't drive in the City so he couldn't drive me back to Hogwarts, where I'm staying. He said, "you could take a cab back." Yes but then he isn't helping much. He'd save me the short cab ride from the train in Queens to the storage but not the long and far more expensive drive from the storage back to Manhattan. I'd have too much stuff to take on the train.

I had to deal with my anxiety through all this. I feel under a lot of pressure every time I ask somebody for help and this is a big favor. But I had to get it done. So I finally got myself to ask somebody who lives not in Queens, not in Manhattan, but in Jersey, Brian. I tease Brian an awful lot but he is just about as generous person as you'll find anywhere. I called him up and asked and he said yes. But by then it was so late that I had to miss the music. I patted myself on the back for doing the mature thing and putting the practical ahead of my pleasure.

Brian picked me up just when he said and we headed out to Queens. It took a bit longer than expected because one tube of the Midtown Tunnel was closed. It is always a challenge getting to the storage facility; it's one of those "you can't get there from here" places. The Long Island Railroad fences it off from the world.

We got there around seven. I was ready to go in and what did I find? It was closed! No place on their card does it give the hours. I have a code to let me in but not when the outer security gates are down. The trip took forever and it was a total waste. The traffic to the tunnel was even worse going back so I planned an alternate route. I didn't need the GPS because the trip there taught me the secret route through the LIRR tracks. We went right by my old apartment in Briarwood. Hey that's close to Brianwood. My plan was to take the Williamsburg Bridge. Then we heard the traffic report that traffic was heavy there too. Of course it had to be since people would take it to avoid the tunnel. The radio said that the Triboro bridge was the best bet. I wasn't sure since it takes us way out of the way north but it is mainly highway. We tried it. There was some traffic but not terrible. We made it back to Hogwarts in about the same time it took to get to the storage and as the traffic was far worse it might be as well as we could do. I felt bad I had Brian do all that driving in traffic for me and it was to no avail. Good thing he's a saint.

I then had to run over to Marshall's to get some bedding. That's one of the things I had wanted to get out of storage. I got some stuff on a great sale and headed back to Hogwarts. Brian brought me a sandwich from Wendy's. I didn't ask him too, he was just being super nice. Did I mention he's a saint? But I was still hungry and even more I was restless so I headed out again in search of food and distraction. I amused the doorman with my constant coming and going. I walked down eighth ave to the Village just to see what I could see. My plan was to forage food opportunistically and not look for anything specific. I made my way over to W 4th Street where I could take the Hogwart's Express, the E or C Train (I guess that makes it the Hogwart's Local), back home. I found myself walking past Magnolia's bakery. I haven't been there in years. I couldn't resist. I got on the line out front and went inside for a cupcake. Keli you should have teleported yourself here to join me. I sent you a telepathic invitation but you didn't answer. Check your telepathic voicemail. I left a message.

Then closer to subway I found a place with "hot chocolate on a stick." I couldn't resist and got one of those. They put a chocolate bar on a stick into hot milk till most but not all of it melts. It was delicious.

When I got home I turned on the TV and what was on? Phineas and Ferb! my favorite TV show. Not only that but it was the classic Meepless in Seattle episode. I watched that and yet more P&F till mini-Hagrid got back from her gig in semi-deep semi-dark New Jersey. I thought she was back early but the reality is that it was later than I thought. She had never seen P&F and watched some with me. She said that Candace looked like Carey. That's perfect as Carey went at Candace last Halloween. I dressed as as Perry the Platypus. You've seen the pictures.

So that was my day. Did you catch what part made it an idiot story? It was not checking the hours of the storage. Can anybody give me a ride from the storage to Hogwarts today? I once again have musical plans I can walk to but once again I'll be a grownup and put them off to get my computer. If I don't get the ride, or I get it early enough I'm going to see the dynamic Deni Bonet at Henrietta Hudson at 4 PM. She's doing two sets even if I get a ride I can see the late set. And yes I can walk there, it's only a mile away and I don't need to make any turns. You should join me.

This turned out to be quite a bit more than a paragraph. Yet it was very easy to write. Now to leave my room and make breakfast. I hear mini-Hagrid stirring. Actually I heard her an hour ago.

Odd thing, my bed is super comfortable and I'm far more emotionally comfortable here than I've been but I haven't been sleeping well. I think it's just my body making adjustments. I keep getting up to go to the bathroom at night then find myself playing on my phone. Oh that's not my body adjusting, it's my self control. I knew it was one or the other.

One last thing if you tell anyone I said nice things about Brian I'll deny it and might have to kill you.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 21, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!