I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 06, 2016 - 4:41 p.m.

Breakfast of Champions

When I was almost finished with Wise Madness my computer crashed and I had to do a hard reboot. Somehow or other Word did not do autobackup or it was lost in the process. So now I have to start from scratch. I am going to eschew much of what I wrote and get to the gist. I love writing about food and cooking. Raise your hand if you know what my favorite meal is? That's right My Gentle Readers, it's breakfast. I am not a bowl of cereal for breakfast person. Breakfast is a hot meal. I make a substantial breakfast every day when possible. I probably make omelets more than any of My Gentle Readers, at least once a week, often twice. Some of what I make it a bit unusual, peanut-butter omelets for instance. When I'm cooking I often think about opening a restaurant that just serves breakfast all day long. I'm toying with the name Breakfasteria. I like the sound but I don't want it to served cafeteria style. I picture a room with lots of wood and bare wood tables. The feeling should be rustic even though my new ideal location for it is the theater district. After an evening of theater people will go there for a late breakfast. Post-evening plans breakfast is the best of all meal. It's where the cast and creative team for show openers will wait for the reviews over pancakes. A spoonful of maple syrup helps the bad reviews go down. One benefit of the crash. I remembered a vital menu item I forgot earlier. The idea is to serve my original breakfast ideas alone with traditional breakfasts from many traditions. I'm not familiar with most of them. What do Jamaicans eat for breakfast? I think it's fish but I'm not sure and I live in a Caribbean neighborhood. So in addition to what I'm listing there will be dim sum and things I haven't heard of yet. You can help me with that. What's a breakfast tradition I don't know that's people who never had it will still enjoy. I guess I need to add breakfast tacos to the mix. Now for the menu.

Bagels

With Cream Cheese
With Cream Cheese and Lox
With Butter
With Peanut Butter

Egg Dishes

Two Eggs Any Style
Eggs Benedict
Eggs ala Horvendile – Poached eggs topped with melted Cheez-Whiz on an English mounted atop a slice of Taylor ham, patty sausage, or scrapple
Two-layer Omelet – We pour the eggs into the omelet pan in twice. The first layer stiffens before we add the second. This heightens the contrast between the two sides. There is a wide selection of fillings; the house specialty is peanut butter. We also offer bacon, sausage, ham, scrapple, hot & sweet peppers, tomato spinach, Cajun seasoning, hot sauce, and cheese.

Breakfast Sandwiches

The following are available on bagel, English muffin, roll, or pita
Sausageeggandcheese
Taylorhameggandcheese
Baconeggandcheese
eggandcheese
sausageandcheese
Taylorhamandcheese
Bacon & Peanut Butter

Pancakes

We use only genuine maple syrup.
Buttermilk
Buckwheat
Vegan – The same recipe as the above with banana substituting for eggs.
Chocolate Chip – chocolate syrup on request
Blueberry
Strawberry
Poffertjes – Feather light mini-Flemish pancakes

Belgian Waffles

We use only genuine maple syrup.
Brussels – the kind you all know
Liege – a sweet waffle that requires no syrup though often served with toppings, Spekuloos spread, chocolate fudge, powdered sugar, whipped cream, peanut butter, and bananas
Everything above can be topped by ice cream

Matzoh Brei

Traditional pancake style
Traditional scrambled style
Matzoh Brei to Make Your Bubbe Cry – Sausage, or Taylor ham is put right in to the mix
Peanut Butter Matzoh Brei – Peanut butter is spread across the top. It's better than the sum of the parts.

Challah French Toast

We use only genuine maple syrup.
Traditional
Cinnamon

French Toast Bread Pudding

We use only genuine maple syrup.
Traditional – We follow Christine Lavin's recipe. We'll sing it to you upon request. Served with maple syrup.
Chocolavinator – How can you make it even better? Add chocolate chips
Either can be covered with crumbled bacon
Matzoh Brei Pudding – Made exactly the same way as the French Toast Bread Pudding but with Matzoh instead of Challah. Sure we'll put in chocolate chips. We'll even add bacon; we're going to hell anyway.

Grits ala Horvendile

Basic mixed – A few minutes before being taken off the stove two eggs and cheese curds are mixed thoroughly into the grits giving it a custard like consistency
Poached – the curds rae mixed in but the eggs are put on top of the grits where they are poached
Deluxe – ham or sausage bits are added to the mix

Sides

Bacon
Sausage – patty or link
Taylor ham
Scrapple
Grits – with or without cheese
Bread or Toast
Home Fries – with or without onions
Hash Browns

Beverages

Hot Coffee
Cold-Brewed Iced Coffee
Brewed tea – no tea bags
Iced Tea
Hot chocolate
Orange Juice
Pineapple Juice

We are available for private parties and events
Please do not tip. We pay our staff a living wage and that is reflected in our prices

Want to eat there? Want to invest in it? Have any suggestions? What have I missed. One thing I know I want is a vegan section. What's a good vegan breakfast? I'd love to hear about how people around the world that eat well eat breakfast. What do Italians eat? How about Indians? Thai? What has blown your socks off?

I of course wrote this after breakfast because of the computer crash. I had sausageeggandcheese on an English muffin.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 06, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!