I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 21, 2013 - 11:55 a.m.

Cyanara

I woke up way too early today so I didn't get enough sleep and I have a long day ahead of me. I'm going to need lots of coffee to get me through this.

Yesterday after school I headed out to the fabled Island of Long, County Nassau, the City of Gardens, to once again see Joni Mitchell's Blue: A 40th Anniversary Celebration starring the Chicks With Dip

Honor Finnegan
Allison Tartalia
Elisa Peimer
Sharon Goldman
Carolann Solebello
Victoria Lavington
Anna Dagmar
Allison Scola
Meg Braun
Karyn Oliver
Catherine Miles
Cheryl Prashker

I stage managed the first time they did it. I have been to almost all the performances of it. I think I have missed three. They do the show in two sets. in the first they do all of the songs on the album without a break or any banter. Then in the second set they do original songs. I have not grown tired of it. That sounds amazing till you think about what album it is. I have listened to the original Three times straight. There's just so much there there. I think I could listen to a "A Case of You" ten times through. Then the second half of the show is always different. last night at least Allison S and Honor did songs that I have not heard before. I hearde Anna's song before but it gets special notice as I say it's about me because it has the line "He's the master of the egg cream." Carolann and Catherine did new songs but I see them often enough that I've heard them.

One thing the show always does is remind me how great the chicks sing. When I see them perform I'm usually listening more closely to their songwriting. They describe themselves as a group of songwriters. But the thing is they don't have good voices, they range from exceptional to incredible.

I don't know what to do about the pictures. I uploaded 37 of them. That sounds like a lot to you realize that is pictures of 14 people But it's to many to show here. I think I'll post two group pictures from the finale

Then I'll show you the slide show. Click on that and it will take you to the album.

And now just one more that I didn't take. This is by Fred but I altered it, you'll see why.

Why did no one think of doing that earlier?

There is nothing that is more of a home game for me than seeing Blue. I'm friends with everyone in the show and usually many people in the audience. Fred actually beat me there! Who else did I know that wasn't married to someone on the show? Rona & Bob, Joanne & Stephen, Gary & Edith, and Marty. I am sure there are more and they will never speak to me again because I didn't mention them. That's the peril when I sit in the front row and don't turn around. The only way I can remember who was there is by visualizing the room and seeing the people in their seats. When I saw them walking around it makes it tougher. Marty is the only one that wasn't sitting in my line of sight I remember. there are probably others. Oh there was, Duh, Dan sat next to me. But Dan isn't on Facebook so he won't read this and be insulted. How did I remember his. Everyone else sat to my left. I realized I hadn't looked right. When I did there he was.

After the show I did a bit less schmoozing than usual after a Blue show because I had a train to catch,. The LIRR has added trains since the last time I was there! It is no longer make the 10:57 or have to go back to Penn Station. If I had missed it there was another train about half an hour later . I have to remember I neeed less time to make it to the station if somebody gives me a ride, Fred in this case. I got there nine minutes early. I could have comfortably had six more minutes of schmooze. I never got to talk to Carolann or Victoria. Of course this was my fourth time seeing Carolann in the last 10 days or so. That is how the world should be.

I better get going. I have to make breakfast, shower, then head out to Madison Square Park to see Pesky J. Nixon. I'm doing the merch for them them so I have to get there early. Then tonight I'm off to see Brittany Haas at a house concert in Red Hook. EVERYTHING is happening tonight. I'm going to miss two things that I NEVER miss; We're About 9 in New Jersey, a show I could go to with my friends, and Nellie McKay in the City. Kirk is going to that show. Oh and Toys and Tiny Instruments has a show and they are introducing new songs. There are a few other shows I'd like to go to in the burbs. But you know what? You can't be everyone at once.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 21, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!